66°FOvercastFull Forecast

Election: Dennis Brown, Monday win four-year supervisor terms

Rep. Jack Drake defeats Dem. John Rose for state representative; voter turnout very high in Union County

Published: Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012 10:41 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012 1:59 p.m. CDT
(CNA photo by KYLE WILSON)
From left, Rosalie Denton of the absentee board, Election Deputy Tandy Steele and Auditor Sandy Hysell calculate absentee votes Tuesday evening at the Union County Courthouse. There were a record 3,111 early voters this election.

The first three-person board of supervisors in Union County will consist of Dennis Brown, Lois Monday and Ron Riley.

In the race for four-year supervisor terms, longtime supervisor Bob Brown came up on the short end of the stick on Election Day as Dennis Brown received 3,749 votes, Lois Monday received 3,081 and Bob Brown received 2,483 votes.

"I thank the people of Union County for putting their faith in me because it's been a hell of year for me personally," Monday said. "I will continue to work for the taxpayer the next four years, just like I always have. We're going to continue to work our way out of debt. We have a good board now and we'll have a good board moving forward, one that will work together and one that works for the people."

During an interview this morning, Dennis Brown thanked all the citizens of Union County who voted for him.

"The best way I can thank the voters now is to always remember who sent me there, why they sent me there and whose money I'm spending," Dennis Brown said. "Now, us three are going to have to sit down and figure out how to make this all work, but I know we will, and we have every intention of moving this county forward, but still really watching our spending because we are still the highest-taxed county in the state."

Dennis Brown thanked Bob Brown, current board chairman, and Bob Jansen for their willingness to help him learn the ropes over the past two years. Bob Brown is the longest running supervisor on the board of supervisors, representing Union County for the past 28 years.

"I wish them all the luck in the world," Bob Brown said this morning.

Riley, running unopposed, won the two-year supervisor term Tuesday evening after receiving 4,678 votes. Dennis Brown, Monday and Riley will begin service together Jan. 1, 2013.


Republican incumbent Jack Drake received 8,199 votes in the race for Iowa House State Representative District 21 Tuesday, defeating Dem. John Rose of Creston who received 6,273 votes.

Rose, a retired high school teacher in Creston, was well represented in Union County, though. More than half of Rose's votes came from Union County where he defeated Drake 3,333 to 2,346.


Rep. Tom Latham received 201,016 votes in the race for U.S. House of Representative's 3rd Congressional District, defeating Dem. Leonard Boswell who received 167,792 votes.

In Union County, Latham received 3,145 votes, defeating Boswell who received 2,408 votes.

Voting info

Union County had good voter turnout this election as 5,954 out of 8,140 registered voters (73.14 percent) went to the polls. In comparison, in the 2008 election 5,947 out of 8,758 registered voters (67.9 percent) went to the polls.

"What a great turnout this year," said Sandy Hysell, county auditor. "I thought 2008 was really good, but this year's turnout topped that."

Absentee voting increased this election season, too, as 3,111 early votes (38.2 percent) were cast in Union County. In comparison, in the 2008 election, 2,734 early votes (31.2 percent) were cast.


Union County voting

County Supervisor, 4-year term

Total Votes 9341

Dennis Brown 3749 40.13% Lois M Monday 3081 32.98% Robert G Brown 2483 26.58% Write-in Votes 28 0.30%

County Supervisor, 2-year term

Total Votes 4728 Ron Riley REP 4678 98.94% Write-in Votes 50 1.06%

County Auditor

Total Votes 4904 Sandy Hysell REP 4884 99.59% Write-in Votes 20 0.41%

County Sheriff

Total Votes 5018 Rick L Piel REP 4960 98.84% Write-in Votes 58 1.16%

State Representative District 21

Total Votes 5685 Jack Drake REP 2346 41.27% John Rose DEM 3333 58.63% Write-in Votes 6 0.11%

United States Representative District 3

Total Votes 5816 Tom Latham REP 3145 54.07% Leonard Boswell DEM 2408 41.40% David Rosenfeld SWP 138 2.37% Scott G Batcher NBP 121 2.08% Write-in Votes 4 0.07%

Supreme Court Zager

Total Votes 4577 YES 3215 70.24% NO 1362 29.76%

Supreme Court Wiggins

Total Votes 5028 YES 2383 47.39% NO 2645 52.61%

Court of Appeals Mullins

Total Votes 4469 YES 3284 73.48% NO 1185 26.52%

Court of Appeals Tabor

Total Votes 4483 YES 3310 73.83% NO 1173 26.17%

Court of Appeals Vaitheswaran

Total Votes 4435 YES 2964 66.83% NO 1471 33.17%

Supreme Court Mansfield

Total Votes 4551 YES 3215 70.64% NO 1336 29.36%

Supreme Court Waterman

Total Votes 4546 YES 3227 70.99% NO 1319 29.01%


Precincts Reporting 8 100.0 % Times Counted 5954/8140 73.1 %

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)