82°FFairFull Forecast

Neitzel named All-Western Iowa defensive captain

Published: Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2012 1:39 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2012 1:41 p.m. CDT

OMAHA — Creston/O-M senior Luke Neitzel is one of the honorary captains for the Omaha World-Herald’s All-Western Iowa football teams announced Sunday.

The newspaper selected 24-player first and second teams in two divisions: Class 4A/3A and Class 2A/1A/A. It also picked 18-player first and second tams in the Eight-Man division.

The newspaper also selected first and second teams in its All-Western Iowa volleyball teams.

In all, five players from Creston/O-M’s football team were selected. Neitzel is the 4A/3A captain for the defense. At safety, the 6-2, 185-pound senior had seven interceptions and finished third on the team with 56 tackles. As a quarterback, he ran for 1,260 yards and 20 touchdowns, and threw for anothger 708 yards and eight scores with only four interceptions.

This is Neitzel’s third year on the All-Western Iowa team, and second year for running back Bryce McIlravy.

The World-Herald’s Western Iowa region does not extend as far as area schools Mount Ayr, East Union and Murray.

Area players selected to the football and volleyball teams by the World-Herald:


Class 4A/3A

First team — OL: Keaton Hulett, Creston/O-M, Sr.; LB: Trevor Frain, Creston/O-M, Jr.; DB: Luke Neitzel, Creston/O-M, Sr. Captain: Neitzel.

Second team — RB: Bryce McIlravy, Creston/O-M, Sr.; OL: Cole Tanner, Creston/O-M, Sr.

Class 2A/1A/A

First team — RB: Cole Bonde, Bedford, Sr.

Second team — DL: Noah Thornton, Bedford, So.

Honorable mention — Brad Baudler, Nodaway Valley; Dylon French, Bedford; Zach Plymesser, Nodaway Valley; Kain Queck, Nodaway Valley; Kolten Sefrit, Bedford; Michael Stender, Nodaway vAlley; Colton Townsend, Bedford.


First team — P: Nick Spring, Corning, Jr.

Second team — DL: Todd Stoaks, Lenox, Jr.; DB: Mason Peterson, Lenox, Sr.

Honorable mention — Keegan Longabaugh, Corning; Blaine Williams, Corning.


Class 5A/4A/3A

Honorable mention — Natalie Mostek, Creston.

Class 2A

Honorable mention — Sydney Reeves, Nodaway Valley; Shelby Venteicher, Nodaway Valley.

Class 1A

First team — Hitter: Kayla, Lindenmeyer, Bedford, Sr.; Haley Raymond, Bedford, Sr.

Second team — Hitter: Ella Akin, Corning, Sr.

Honorable mention — Caitlyn Damewood, Corning; Madison Douglas, Lenox; Marie Palmer, Corning; Savanna Thornton, Bedford.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush