Fair and Breezy
81°FFair and BreezyFull Forecast

Hawkeye 10 explainer

Published: Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2013 11:39 a.m. CDT

• The Hawkeye 10 Conference is split into two divisions — the north division and the south division.

The north division includes Atlantic, Harlan, Denison-Schleswig, Kuemper Catholic and Lewis Central.

The south division includes Creston, Shenandoah, Glenwood, Clarinda and Red Oak.

• Teams in the same division are required to play each other twice during the basketball season, with both games counting toward the conference standings.

• Teams are only required to play teams from the other division once. That game counts in the conference standings.

Teams have the option of scheduling a second game against an opponent from the other division, but are not required to.

If two games are scheduled against a cross-division team, the Hawkeye 10 Conference determines which game counts in the conference standings.

• Creston's game against Atlantic on Friday counts toward the Hawkeye 10 Conference standings, and will play a big factor in determining how the conference unfolds.


• If Atlantic wins, the Trojans clinch their second straight outright Hawkeye 10 Conference championship.

• If Creston wins, the Panthers clinch at least a share of the Hawkeye 10 Conference championship.

Creston's final conference game is Feb. 12 in Harlan against the Cyclones. If Creston wins out, the Panthers win the outright Hawkeye 10 Conference championship.

If Creston beats Atlantic and loses to Harlan, then Creston shares the conference championship with Atlantic.

More News

Reader Poll

If adding curbside recycling would raise your garbage bill by $4, would you be in favor of it?
No, but I would be in favor if it cost less
No, it's not worth paying extra
Not sure