77°FFairFull Forecast

Akin, Still, Reeves named first-team All-POI

Published: Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2013 11:21 a.m. CDT

Three area players earned first-team All-Pride of Iowa Conference honors, as announced Tuesday.

Corning senior Ella Akin, Mount Ayr senior Taylor Still and Nodaway Valley senior Sydney Reeves each received first team honors.

Akin led Corning (9-14) in scoring at 13.7 points per game on 51.6 percent shooting from the floor, while also pulling down 6.3 rebounds per game and collecting a team-high 43 steals. Akin finished fourth in the conference in scoring.

Still led the Raiders (11-11) with 14.1 points per game and 9.4 rebounds per game, while collecting a team-high 54 steals and 41 blocks. Still was the sixth-leading scorer in the conference and third leading rebounder, while also finishing tied for third in blocked shots.

Reeves led Nodaway Valley (14-9) with 13.7 points per game to go with 6.8 rebounds per game. Reeves finished the year with 46 steals and 34 blocks. Reeves ranked fifth in the conference in scoring.

Six area players were named to the second-team all-conference.

Corning sophomore Marie Palmer, who averaged a double-double with 12.3 points and a conference-leading 11.5 rebounds per game, earned unanimous second-team honors.

East Union junior Kelsey Hoff led the Eagles with 9.7 points per game and 8.4 rebounds per game to make the second team.

A pair of Lenox sophomores made the team in Aurora Arevalo and Katie Dukes.  Arevalo averaged 9.0 points per game and 9.3 rebounds per game, while Dukes averaged 8.3 points and 8.4 rebounds per game.

Mount Ayr junior Paige Daughton averaged 6.2 points and 5.8 rebounds per game for the Raiders, and was an unanimous selection to the second team.

Nodaway Valley senior Shelby Venteicher netted 8.3 points per game with 3.9 rebounds per game, while also leading the Wolverines with 62 assists and 71 steals throughout the season.

All-POI Girls

(* — unanimous)

First team — Kayla Lindenmeyer*, Bedford, Sr.; Peyton Russell, Bedford, Sr.; Savanna Thornton, Bedford, Sr.; Hallie Linhart*, Central Decatur, So.; Brittany Binning, Central Decatur, Sr.; Sadie Greene*, Central Decatur, Sr.; Ella Akin, Corning, Sr.; Nicole Travis*, Interstate 35, Sr.; Nicole Shutt, Martensdale-St. Marys, So.; Taylor Still, Mount Ayr, Sr.; Sydney Reeves, Nodaway Valley, Sr.; Kennedy Core, Pleasantville, So.

Second team — Kendyl Gruttemeyer, Bedford, Sr.; Marie Palmer*, Corning, So.; Kelsey Hoff, East Union, Jr.; Jordan Williamson, Interstate 35, Sr.; Aurora Arevalo, Lenox, So.; Katie Dukes, Lenox, So.; Kylah Schumacher, Martensdale-St. Marys, So.; Paige Daughton, Mount Ayr, Jr.; Shelby Venteicher, Nodaway Valley, Sr.; Brandi Putz, Southeast Warren, So.; Amy Williams, Southeast Warren, Sr.; Mandie Gassman, Wayne, Jr.; Breanna Fortune*, Wayne, Jr.

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)