Mostly Cloudy
72°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Sports briefs

Published: Monday, March 4, 2013 11:15 a.m. CDT


Mediacom’s local channel, MC22, will replay the Iowa High School Girls Basketball championship games. The championship games are produced by the Iowa High School Sports Network and taped from Des Moines at Wells Fargo Arena.

Due to the popularity of the Iowa High School Girls Basketball Tournament, Mediacom will replay championship matches for each class.

The first MC22 replay will air beginning with Class 1A on Tuesday, March 5, at 11:30 a.m. Later that night the action picks back up with Class 2A at 7:30 pm, immediately followed by Class 3A at 9 p.m., and Class 4A at 10:30 p.m. The Class 5A game will be shown Wednesday, March 6 at 9:30 a.m.

MC22 is a basic cable channel available to all Mediacom subscribers in Iowa. The championship content will be replayed throughout the month of March for those who are not able to watch it during the original broadcast.

Viewers can go to to find the specific schedule. DVD’s of the championship matches are available through the Iowa High School Sports Network. For more information on how to order visit their website at

State officials

DES MOINES — Brad Baker of Creston, Scott Giles of Mount Ayr and Kurt Walderbach of Mason City were officials for the Class 4A championship game at the Girls State Basketball Tournament Saturday night.

Cedar Rapids Xavier defeated Harlan for the 4A title, 53-52, in a game featuring 14 lead changes and six ties.

Halls awards

MURRAY — Murray Community School District will be hosting an all-school assembly at 12:45 p.m. Thursday, as the Greater Des Moines Convention and Visitors Bureau and Des Moines Area Sports Commission will present senior Austin Halls with the 2012 Central Iowa Sports Award for High School Male Athlete of the Year.

Halls was also recently voted the Eight-Man Player of the Year by the Iowa Football Coaches Association.

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush