Mostly Cloudy
75°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Panther bowlers celebrate team, individual accomplishments

Published: Tuesday, April 2, 2013 12:15 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, April 2, 2013 12:22 p.m. CDT
(Contributed photo)
Senior members of the 2012-13 Creston/Orient-Macksburg bowling team honored at the team's postseason awards banquets on March 24 are front row, from left: Emily Lange, Anna Wilson and Emily Davidson. Back row, from left: Jacob Wolfe, Shaylen Kipp and Kenny Wynn. Not pictured: Garrett Abell, Josh Sawtelle, Adam Hoffman, Aaron Shaw, Austin Hurt and Rylee Winners.

The Creston/Orient-Macksburg bowling team celebrated a highly successful season at its postseason awards banquet on March 24 in the CHS commons.

Both the Panther boys and girls teams qualified for the Coed State Bowling Tournament, where the boys finished fifth and the girls finished ninth.

Eight Panther bowlers were named all-district performers, while senior Emily Lange also earned Hawkeye 10 Academic All-Conference honors.

The Creston/O-M girls set a new team high score of 2699 against Denison-Schleswig on senior day in February, while the boys came up just 29 pins short of setting the all-time high score at the state tournament.

“We had a very good year,” head coach Ron Pendegraft said. “Arguably the best year overall for both boys and girls together. Without a doubt, it was the best year for averages for our girls. We also shot two scores over 2600 for the first time.

“For the boys, they threw our second-high team score ever with a 2983, which is also our highest state tournament score ever — even higher than the 2004 third-place score of 2952.”

The Panthers also honored 12 seniors at the banquet, seven of which participated at the state tournament.

Pendegraft said he will miss those seniors, but that he hopes the younger talent can step up and fill in those roles.

“It will be a rebuilding year next year,” he said. “We lose seven of our 12 state tournament bowlers and they will be missed, but we have some capable underclassmen who are ready to have their shot. I’m very confident we’ll be very competitive again next year.”

Seniors on the team included Garrett Abell, Josh Sawtelle, Adam Hoffman, Aaron Shaw, Austin Hurt, Rylee Winners, Jacob Wolfe, Kenny Wynn, Emily Lange, Anna Wilson, Emily Davidson and Shaylen Kipp.


Seniors — Josh Sawtelle, Jacob Wolfe, Kenny Wynn, Shaylen Kipp, Emily Lange, Anna Wilson.

Juniors — Chantz Davidson, Devon Eddy.

Sophomores — Darin Hatfield, Jenna Hayes.

Freshmen — Blake Eddy, Madison Hance, Mackenzie McKinney, Charley Parcher.

Participation awards — Garrett Abell, Jazzmyn Castillo, Bree Daggett, Alyssa Downey, Jacob Geary, Adam Hoffman, Austin Hurt, Ashley Knipfer, Reece Kramer, Aaron Shaw, Sydney Suiter, Taylor Suiter, Rylee Winners.

District 6 awards

First-team all-district — Chantz Davidson, Shaylen Kipp, Madison Hance.

Second-team all-district — Emily Davidson, Anna Wilson, Devon Eddy.

Honorable mention all-district — Josh Sawtelle, Emily Lange.

Team awards

High game — Devon Eddy (245), Chantz Davidson (252).

High series — Emily Davidson (446), Josh Sawtelle (484).

Total pins — Madison Hance (4575), Chantz Davidson (5445).

High Average — Madison Hance (163.4), Chantz Davidson (194.5).

Coaches award — Garrett Abell.

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)