63°FOvercastFull Forecast

McIlravy, Hudson receive CHS athletic honors

Published: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 1:10 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 7:13 a.m. CDT

Bryce McIlravy received the Bernie Saggau Award, and Taylor Hudson was presented the Kim Bishop Award during the athletics portion of the Creston High School awards ceremony May 3.

See Thursday’s Creston News Advertiser for coverage of the CHS Outstanding Male Athlete award winners. Briar Evans, Keaton Hulett and Luke Neitzel shared the male athlete award, and Brianna Maitlen received the female award featured in today’s CNA.

The Saggau Award is named for the retired executive director of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, who devoted much of his life to building high standards of character and leadership in Iowa high school athletics.

McIlravy, a varsity athlete in football, basketball and tennis, is also an outstanding student. He received the award that states: “Presented annually to the graduating student who best exemplifies a patriotic spirit, with strong religious and moral convictions, living and professing the qualities of honesty, integrity, and sportsmanship; believing that both games and life should be conducted by the rules.”

McIlravy, who plans to major in physical therapy at the University of Northern Iowa, battled back from a severe ankle injury in football during his senior year, and will compete in the state tennis doubles tournament with Colby Taylor.

Hudson, a member of the volleyball, cross country and track teams, received the award in honor of the late Kim Bishop. A standout student at Creston High School, Bishop was also an all-around athlete and gymnast. The award is presented annually to a CHS female athlete who displays outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship.

Hudson will attend Morningside College in Sioux City on a track scholarship.

An “Outstanding Accomplishment Award” was presented to Jake Marlin, the school’s first four-time state wrestling champion, and first to gain that distinction in western Iowa.

Other athletic awards include:

Citizenship — Theo Hartman, Emma Johnson, Jana Johnson, Travis Miller, Zach Powers.

Sportsmanship — Mackenzie Andreasen, Ryan Cook, Amy Dunphy, Tyler “Skippy” Mood, Emily Wignall.

Outstanding Accomplishment — Jake Marlin (four state wrestling championships.)

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)