Partly Cloudy
66°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

Redding, Dryden repeat as Crestmoor Best Ball champs

Published: Tuesday, July 2, 2013 11:31 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, July 2, 2013 11:33 p.m. CDT
T.J. Redding (left) and Chad Dryden of Creston repeated as champions of the 46th annual Crestmoor Best Ball Invitational last weekend. Redding and Dryden shot 11-under 61 Sunday and finished one shot shy of the tournament record with a 36-hole score of 125, topping Ryan McKim and Clark Kuntz by seven strokes.

Despite strong westerly wind gusts all weekend, the Creston duo of T.J. Redding and Chad Dryden shot a near-record score as repeat champions of the 46th annual Crestmoor Best Ball Tournament.

Dryden and Redding had a one-shot lead over Ryan McKim and Clark Kuntz after 18 holes, 64-65. But they ran away with the title on day two, shooting a 61 on the par-72 course. McKim and Kuntz were second at 132, followed by Steve Moeller and Larry Wagner at 138.

A year ago, Dryden and Redding shot a winning score of 131. This year’s 125, including an 11-under 32-29 on Sunday, was one shy of the record of 124 turned in by Bob Whittington and Nate Topp in 2004 and Tim Haskell and Brian Haskell in 2007.

Redding was involved in championships in 2009 and 2010 with Justin Redding, shooting 133 both years. McKim is also a former winner, teaming with Michael Buck for a 135 score in 2006.

Moeller and Wagner shot a winning 31 in the rain-shortened nine-hole event in 2011.

There were 50 teams in this year’s event.

Flight leaders:

Championship — 1. T.J. Redding and Chad Dryden, Creston, 125; 2. Ryan McKim, Ames, and Clark Kuntz, Tallahassee, Fla., 132; 3. Steve Moeller and Larry Wagner, Creston, 138; 4. Brian Haskell and Duston Doss, St. Joseph, Mo., 138.

A flight — 1. Matt Hammersmith and Tom McAfee, Horton, Kan., 140; 2. Keith Moore, Creston, and Ken Moore, Texas, 140; 3. Mel McKie, Creston, and Ed Frangenberg, Radcliffe, 143; 4. Steve Gardner and Mark Walz, Ottumwa, 144.

B flight — 1. Ken Markley and Jeff Chromy, Mount Ayr, 143; 2. Terry Hannah, Boonevile, and Derek Hanna, Ankeny, 145; 3. Curtis Coble and Terry Doss, St. Joseph, Mo., 147; 4. Jim Hartsock and Tyler Hartsock, Kansas City, Mo., 149.

C flight — 1. Mick Bennett, Creston, and Doe Davis, Des Moines, 151; 2. Al Monaghan and Barrie Monaghan, Creston, 152; 3. Jason Ross and Todd Dunphy, Creston, 153; 4. Dennis Abel, Creston, and Joe Spencer, St. Joseph,Mo., 156.

D flight — 1. Bob Lesan, North Liberty, and Tom Lesan, Creston, 158; 2. Jerry Smith and Jeremy Smith, Osceola, 159; 3. Dan Pedersen and J.T. Welsh, Shawnee, Kan., 159; 4. Larry Owens and Bill Krejci, Creston, 161.

E flight — 1. Casey Willets and Chad Willets, Creston, 159; 2. Nick Jannings and Ryan Key, Creston, 160; 3. Todd Stalker and Chad Rieck, Creston, 161; 4. Lance O’Neal and A.J. Morris, Des Moines, 165.

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush