Sports briefs

Published: Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:04 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:12 a.m. CDT
Campers: Creston Middle School basketball players who participated in the Clarke boys basketball youth camp last week are, from left: Cole Higgins, Dustin Merritt, Evan Jacobson, Tucker Flynn, Hunter Simpson, Eli Loudon, Luke Latham and Colby Berg. A total of 47 boys in grades 3-8 participated in the camp hosted by Clarke boys head coach and former standout on the 2006 Nodaway Valley state championship team, James Larson.

Shrine Bowl

CEDAR FALLS — Mediacom will show Saturday’s 41st annual Shrine Bowl via tape delay, on MC22 at 10 pm. Saturday and 7 p.m. Sunday.

The program also is available to watch anytime thereafter in OnDemand on channel 1.

The game will be played 4 p.m. Saturday in the UNI-Dome in the first year of an agreement with the University of Northern Iowa to host the game. For several years the game was held at Jack Trice Stadium on the Iowa State University campus, but NCAA regulations prohibit all-star high school games on Division I campuses now.

Members of the South squad and their uniform numbers for Saturday’s game are No. 4, Lucas Neitzel, Creston/O-M; No. 8, Sam Markham, Atlantic; No. 10, Alex Reed, Lewis Central; No. 20, Noah Kaldenberg, Winterset; No. 42, Jordan Grove, ADM; and No. 46, Dalton Gilbert, Central Decatur. The team is coached by Dowling Catholic coach Tom Wilson.

Truly Mothershead of Central Decatur is on the South cheer squad.

Sponsors for Neitzel’s appearance in the game, totalling approximately $1,400 in donations, are First National Bank, Iowa State Savings Bank, Greater Regional Medical Center, Family Shoe Store, M&M Motors, Dr. Dave and Gwen Buck, Creston Vision Clinic, Paul and Donna Pals, Joel and Merri Emerson.

Pre-purchased tickets are $10 per person and $15 per person at the gate. For more information, see

Couples tourney

A total of 25 couples participated in the Southwest Iowa Couples Bucket (8-inch cup) Tournament Sunday at Crestmoor Golf Club.

The first nine holes was played as an alternate shot, and the second nine holes as a best shot.

Morning session

First flight — 1. Larry and Janis Owens, 68; 2. Dick and Jane Johnston, 75; 3. Bob and LouAnn Snodgrass, 76.

Second flight — 1. Michelle Rice and Todd Crill, 85; 2. Mike and Sharon McCullough, 85; 3. Dannette Mirro and Curt Grimm, 86.

Afternoon session

First flight — 1. Al and Toni Landers, 68; 2. Bruce and Gail Henderson, 69; 3. Brian and Susan Weinheimer, 71.

Second flight — 1. Jared Knutstrom and Beth Kulow, 77; 2. Scott and Melissa Driskell, 78; 3. Ron and Nora Sprague, 83.

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)