LaMasters headlines list of area all-district players

Published: Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013 10:04 p.m. CDT • Updated: Friday, Aug. 2, 2013 7:17 a.m. CDT

(Continued from Page 1)

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association announced its 2013 All-District softball teams Thursday.

Creston sophomore Haylee LaMasters was named to the Class 4A West All-District team.

LaMasters hit .355 for the Panthers in 2013 with 10 doubles, one triple, a team-high five home runs and 31 runs batted in. She also posted an 18-15 record in the pitching circle with a 3.30 earned run average and 211 strikeouts in 191 innings pitched.

Also on the Class 4A Southwest All-District team from the Hawkeye 10 Conference were Harlan’s Taylor Schaben and Denison-Schleswig’s Shelby Pieper.

Doug Heidebrink of Le Mars was named the district coach of the year.

Class 1A

In the Class 1A South Central District, three Murray players earned All-District honors.

Seniors Danielle McIntosh and Cydney Hembry, along with junior Kate Patton were all named tot the Class 1A South Central All-District team.

McIntosh hit .459 with 16 doubles, two triples, eight home runs and 38 RBI. McIntosh also posted a record of 13-6 in the pitching circle, with an ERA of 1.02 and 144 strikeouts in 109 2/3 innings.

Patton batted .412 with seven doubles, five triples, two home runs, 16 RBI and went a perfect 37-for-37 in stolen base attempts. Patton went a perfect 12-0 in the pitching circle. She finished with an ERA of 1.22 and had 110 strikeouts in 92 innings.

Hembry hit .446 for the season with 12 doubles, two triples, two home runs and 24 RBI, while adding seven stolen bases.

Meanwhile, five area players were named to the Class 1A Southwest All-District team.

Katie Dukes and Madison Douglas of Lenox, Sydney Pontius and Ella Akin of Corning and East Union’s Rochelle Means all received All-District honors.

Dukes hit .360 with four doubles, four triples, two home runs and 19 RBI for the Tigers, stealing 27 bases in 29 attempts. Douglas batted .296 with four doubles, three triples, two home runs and 26 RBI.

For Corning, Pontius hit .408 with 13 doubles, one triple, three home runs and 24 RBI. Akin hit .247 with one double and 11 RBI, while also posting a 14-15 record in the pitching circle with a 3.56 ERA and 127 strikeouts in 183 innings.

Means hit .293 for East Union with three doubles, one triple and a team-high 16 RBI. She also stole five bases.

Todd Verwers of Martensdale-St. Marys was named the Class 1A Southwest District Coach of the Year.

Class 3A

In Class 3A, Clarke was rewarded for its state runner-up finish by placing three players on the Southeast All-District team.

Juniors Libby Bemis and Kennedy Crees, along with senior Sarah Pate all earned all-district honors.

Head coach Lindsay Diehl, after the team’s 28-10 season that ended with a 6-3 loss to Bondurant-Farrar in the state championship game, was named the Class 3A Southeast District Coach of the Year.

Iowa Girls Coaches Association

All-District Teams

Class 1A

South Central — Danielle McIntosh, Murray, Sr.; Kate Patton, Murray, Jr.; Brittney Roby, Twin Cedars, Jr.; Lexi Crozier, Melcher-Dallas, Sr.; Jordan Carter, Sigourney, So.; Madison Rasmusson, Lynnville-Sully, So.; Sidnee Smith, Lamoni, Sr.; Cydney Hembry, Murray, Sr.; Alee Hugen, Twin Cedars, Sr.; Colleen Johnston, Montezuma, Jr.; Katelynn Tracy, Moravia, Sr.; Shelby Davis, Lynville-Sully, So.; Becca Vos, Lynnville-Sully, Jr.; Payton Fee, Twin Cedars, Sr.; Becca Ohland, Sigourney, Jr.; Autumn McDanel, Moravia, Fr.; Anastasia Dennison, Melcher-Dallas, Jr.

District Coach of the Year — Stacey Alberts, Lynnville-Sully.

Southwest — Nicole Schutt, Martensdale-St. Marys, So.; Kylah Schumacher, Martensdale-St. Marys, So.; Kendall Fichter, Fremont-Mills, Sr.; Riley Verwers, Martensdale-St. Marys, Fr.; Kendyl Gruttemeyer, Bedford, Sr.; Emma Ferin, Martensdale-St. Marys, Sr.; Katrina DeVore, Martensdale-St. Marys, Sr.; Katie Dukes, Lenox, So.; Carmen Subbert, Stanton, Jr.; Haley Fundermann, Essex, Sr.; Seana Perkins, Essex, Jr.; Rachel Smith, Exira/EHK, So.; Morganne Haer, Villisca, Sr.; Madison Douglas, Lenox, Sr.; Kelsey Wickett, Southeast Warren, Jr.; Sydney Pontius, Corning, Jr.; Rochelle Means, East Union, Sr.; Haley Seuferer, Southeast Warren, Jr.; Ella Akin, Corning, Sr.

District Coach of the Year — Todd Verwers, Martensdale-St. Marys.

Class 2A

Southwest - Madison Keysor, Treynor, Sr.; Jody Hagedorn, IKM-Manning, Sr.; Moriah Bohlmann, Kuemper Catholic, Sr.; Dana Hustedt, Ridge View, Sr.; Hailey Hellstrom, Missouri Valley, Sr.; Kate Killinger, Treynor, Sr.; Lexis Rogers, Treynor, Sr.; Halle Still, Woodbury Central, So.; Bailey Holtz, Westwood, Sr.; Lexi Binder, Lawton-Bronson, Fr.; Hallie Linhart, Central Decatur, So.; Malory Christiansen, Tri-Center, Sr.; Keely Steffen, Woodbury Central, Fr.; Abby Straight, Logan-Magnolia, Fr.; Katelynn DIlts, Underwood, Sr.; Alli Roepke, Westwood, Sr.; Brianna Martens, AHST, Sr.; Gretchen Kistenmacher, Ridge VIew, Sr.; Allison Waters, Underwood, Jr.; Courtney Oviatt, Logan-Magnolia, Sr.; Baily Janssen, Missouri Valley, So.

District Coach of the Year — JoEllen Travis, Treynor.

Class 4A

West — Shyanne Dubois, Carlisle, So.; Payton Mercer, Carlisle, Jr.; Taylor Schaben, Harlan, Sr.; Karly Olson, Winterset, Sr.; Kenzie Ihle, Ballard, Jr.; Annie Stolte, Ballard, Jr.; Taylor Benshoof, Winterset, Sr.; Shelby Pieper, Denison-Schleswig, Sr.; Kaitlyn Biere, Webster City, Sr.; Allie Martinez, Lewis Central, Sr.; Lauren Friesth, Humboldt, Jr.; Lauren Janning, Carroll, Jr.; Sammie Nicholson, Winterset, Jr.; Madison Heidebrink, Le Mars, Jr.; Haylee LaMasters, Creston, So.; Emily Ellefson, Le Mars, Sr.; Molly Renken, Le Mars, Sr.; Makayla Augustine, Sioux City Bishop Heelan, Sr.

District Coach of the Year — Doug Heidebrink, Le Mars.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)