Light Drizzle
64°FLight DrizzleFull Forecast

Crestmoor Best Shot Invitational hosts 46 teams

Published: Monday, Aug. 12, 2013 9:53 p.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Aug. 12, 2013 9:58 p.m. CDT
Doug North of Creston, right, hits an approach shot to within five feet Saturday at the Crestmoor Best Shot Invitational, while teammate Jason Borrall of Ankeny watches. The 45th edition of the tournament played host to 46 total teams.

The 45th annual Crestmoor Best Shot Invitational played host to 46 teams here Saturday and Sunday at Crestmoor Golf Club.

John Walter and Alex Walter of Camp Point, Ill., won the championship flight with a 36-hole score of 119 over the two days.

Walter and Walter just edged out the teams of Terry Brentnall and Clark Kuntz of Tallahassee, Fla., and Chad Dryden and TJ Redding of Creston for the championship, as both of those teams finished with scores of 121.

Larry Wagner and Brian Weinheimer placed fourth with a score of 124.

Tom Hartsock of Creston and Jim Hartsock of Kansas City won the A flight with a two-day total of 129, just beating out the Creston team of Matt Somers and Kainen Somers, who shot a 130.

2013 Crestmoor Best Shot Invitational Results

Championship Flight — 1. John Walter and Alex Walter, Camp Point, Ill., 119; 2. Terry Brentnall and Clark Kuntz, Tallahassee, Fla., 121; 3. Chad Dryden and TJ Redding, Creston, 121; 4. Larry Wagner and Brian Weinheimer, Creston, 124.

A Flight — 1. Tom Hartsock, Creston, and Jim Hartsock, Kansas City, 129; 2. Matt Somers and Kainen Somers, Creston, 130; 3. Tom Lesan and Bill Krejci, Creston, 131; 4. Chase Crill and Dan Turner, Corning, 133.

B Flight — 1. Jason Ross and Ryan Palser, Creston, 131; 2. Steve Braun, Chicago, and Tom Logan, Kansas City, 135; 3. Dan Coen and Scott Coen, Creston, 139; 4. Bob Lesan, North Liberty, and Tom Lesan, Creston, 139.

C Flight — 1. Lee Wykle and Bob Fisher, Ames, 138; 2. Dick Johnston and Brad Johnston, Creston, 140; 3. Al Monaghan and Ed Frangenburg, Radcliffe, 140; 4. Ryan Mohr and Jared Knutstrom, Creston, 141.

D Flight — 1. Jake Boyd and Scott Boyd, Creston, 142; 2. Ken Markley and Jeff Chromy, Mount Ayr, 142; 3. Lance O’Neal and Scott Jackson, West Des Moines, 143; 4. Tim Gray, Creston, and Tyler Edwards, Corning, 145.

E Flight — 1. John Walters and Craig Taylor, Creston, 146; 2. Russ Smith and Dave Peterson, Des Moines, 148; 3. Jeff Levine, Mount Ayr, and Scott Levine, Clinton, 150; 4. JT Walsh and Butch Thurman, Lawrence, Kan., 152.

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush