63°FFog/MistFull Forecast

O’Brien late model ‘King of the Hill’

Purdy, Plowman, Hardisty lock up championships

Published: Monday, Sept. 2, 2013 11:46 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Sept. 3, 2013 7:43 a.m. CDT

(Continued from Page 1)

CORNING — With just one week of NASCAR Whelen All-American series racing left at the Adams County Speedway three of the five classes have already determined their champions. 

Jeremy Purdy has locked up the Chat Mobility hobby stock crown and Jon Plowman has also clinched the Stalker Chevrolet b-mod crown. Tony Hardisty has the Northland Oil pro-stock crown in the bag too.

But the race in the two remaining classes couldn’t be closer.  Brian Foote claimed a dramatic win to get within one point of Poet Biorefining modified point leader Jesse Dennis.  

In the feature division Coors Light Silver Bullet late models JC Wyman got his second win in as many weeks closing his margin to just three points behind class point leader Jason O’Brien. With each position worth two points, and five bonus points for a win it will all come down to the final week for those two classes.

Hobby stocks

Bedford’s Jeremy Purdy came to the speedway needing only a mid-pack finish to lock up the hobby stock championship, but driving conservatively wasn’t on his mind.  Starting outside in row six Purdy was in the lead by the time flagman Daniel Duranceau displayed the crossed flags for half-way. 

Tom Myers, Luke Ramsey, and Andy Davison were all there to pressure Purdy for the remainder of the race, but Purdy went on to get win number seven in fourteen starts and lock up the championship. Myers, Kurt Hansen, Ramsey, and Davison rounded out the top five.

The win also puts Purdy in strong contention to be the national NASCAR dirt track division five champion.


Utica, Nebraska’s Tony Rost made it three wins in five starts this season at ACS. Rost raced most of the 2013 NASCAR season at Junction Motor Speedway just 25 miles from his home, but has since been coming to ACS to face a larger field in his attempt to claim the national championship. So far it’s been either checkers or wreckers for Rost with three wins and two DNFs.

This week it was Rost and Essex’s Blain Petersen waging a door to door battle for nearly a dozen laps as they fought for the lead. Rost went on for the win followed by Petersen, last week’s winner Jerod Weston, and Jon Plowman in fourth.

Plowman was forced to race a borrowed car in the feature after a crash in his heat race sidelined his car. Starting in the back of the pack he made his way to fourth and locked in his first ACS class championship with an insurmountable lead with one week to go.  Josh Cooper finished fifth in the feature.


Corning’s Joe Zadina got his first win of the 2013 season becoming the seventh different winner in 14 nights in what is undeniably the most competitive class at the speedway. Zadina started eighth in the field of fourteen and was chased to the front by Brad Derry and Greg Miller who started ninth and 10th respectively. 

Craig Garner and Kevin Sharp rounded out the top five.  Tony Hardisty’s sixth place finish helped him amass a point lead that will guarantee him the class championship this season.


Trying to fit three race cars into a groove only wide enough for two lead Jared Stiens to perform a thrilling climb of the front stretch wall early in the modified feature race.  Stiens emerged unscathed – except for a lot of white paint on his right-front tire, while Ryan Schaffer suffered a flat tire that sent him to the pits for a quick tire change.

On track it was Brian Foote and Jared Stiens side by side battling for the lead. Foote took the lead on lap 11 but Stiens charged to the lead in turns one and two on the white flag lap. Going into turn three for the final time Stiens went a bit too hard looping his car and relinquishing the win to Foote. John Davis inherited second followed by Jesse Dennis, Jeff Wiggins, and Kevin Parman.

With one week left Dennis carries a scant three point lead over Foote as they battle for the championship.  A win by either driver locks up the title, otherwise Foote would have to finish two positions ahead of Dennis to steal the crown. 

Late models

For the last two weeks JC Wyman has had is number four late model on a rail around the top of the speedway cruising to easy victories. This week it took four attempts to get the first lap in as multiple caution flags forced restarts. By the time the racing was clean and green it took Wyman just one more lap to get to the lead and the high groove.  Wyman stretched his lead putting all but the top five in the race a lap down.

Trent Jackson, Chris Spieker, Paul Glendenning and Jason O’Brien finished second through fifth. The win closed the point margin between Wyman and class leader Jason O’Brien to just one point with one week left. Eight-time track champion Chris Spieker is just 17 points behind the leader and still has a shot at the crown should bad luck befall Wyman and O’Brien. Obviously, the late model feature race on Sept. 7 will be the biggest race of the year for all these drivers.

Sprint cars

The Lucas Oil ASCS 360 Sprint cars and the Midwest 305’s will make their inaugural appearance at the Adams County Speedway for a rare Friday night race on Sept. 6. 

Fans will have a chance to see the fastest racing action of the season when gates open at 5 p.m. with racing action scheduled for 7. Adult admission is $15 with student prices the same as a regular weekly racing.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)