64°FFairFull Forecast

Eagan, Snodgrass, Zumbach win Creston school board terms

Published: Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2013 10:35 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2013 12:16 p.m. CDT
Creston citizens, from left, Mike Linch, Tracey Evans and Mark Evans wait in line to vote for Creston School Board members, Southwestern Community College Board of Directors members and SWCC tax levy at Crest Baptist Church Tuesday. Kay Raymond, far left, worked the election lasting from noon to 8 p.m. Also up for election were East Union School Board members.

School board election results are in, and Creston School Board incumbents Sharon Snodgrass and Galen Zumbach will continue in their position, along with newcomer Tom Eagan. Incumbent Rich Flynn was defeated.

In the contention for three available board positions, Eagan received the most votes with 624. Snodgrass received 580 votes, and Zumbach received 506 votes. Flynn, who was up for re-election, received 275 votes.

“I’d just like to thank everybody for their support. And, I do look forward to a chance of helping out the board and working with them, and getting started,” Eagan said this morning. “This is all very new to me. I’m glad to be here.”

Eagan is a self-employed electrician, and has previously worked for Central Iowa Power Cooperative and Bunn-O-Matic.

During an interview this morning, Sharon Snodgrass thanked the Creston community for the support.

“I appreciate the support, and that folks in the Creston community have shared in the voting process,” Snodgrass said. “It is my charge to continue to do all the things that are best for kids, and all the while being cognizant of the fiscal responsibilty in the school district.”

Snodgrass, a former Creston teacher and administrator, has been on the board since May 2012 when she replaced Kevin Scadden after his resignation from the board in April 2012.

Galen Zumbach, board vice president, has been on Creston School Board approximately two years. He is a former teacher and FFA advisor in the school district.

“I was pleased with the results. I personally look forward to working with the current board and Mr. McDermott, and continue to deal with the challenges the board faced prior to the election,” said Zumbach.

Rich Flynn served on Creston School Board from 1999 to 2001. In 2003, he returned to fill an empty position on the board and stayed on until 2006. He ran for election in 2009, and has been on the board since then.

“I think the biggest reaction I had was a couple weeks ago. I realized there was no way I could lose in this if I was re-elected on the school board,” Flynn said. “But, if I wasn’t re-elected, like what happened, now I don’t have to put up with the nonsense on the school board. I won both ways. I wish Mr. Eagan the best of luck. I know he will do a good job. I want to thank Steve McDermott for his willingness to come to the school district, ... and I want to thank everyone in the Creston School District for allowing me the privilege of being on the school board for 10 of the last 13 years.”


Southwestern Community College board member Dennis Davis was up for re-election and ran unopposed. He earned a vote of 30 for SWCC District 1, which covers the Lorimor area north of Afton.

Zach Gunsolley also ran unopposed for SWCC District 6. He earned a vote of 193 from District 6, which includes Afton, Arispe and part of Creston.

On the ballot was the option to vote for SWCC tax levy, which is a tax that will go toward improvements of SWCC campuses. The measure passed with a vote of 658, with 199 votes opposed.

East Union

Several board members were up for election for East Union Schools. In District 2, Sarah Long, current board member, ran against Mike Rollings and lost on a vote of 32 to 74. In District 4, current board member Randy Wuebker lost to Rex Kelly on a vote of 8 to 39. In District 5, Kenneth Hagen ran unopposed and received a vote of 17.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What are you looking forward to most at Creston's farmers' market?
Fresh produce
Honey and jam
Baked goods