64°FFairFull Forecast

Out with the old, in with the new

Eagan sworn in to Creston School Board, Zumbach named president

Published: Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2013 11:04 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Sept. 15, 2013 11:41 a.m. CDT
New Creston School Board member Tom Eagan waits to be sworn in by business manager Roy Stroud during Monday's regularly-scheduled board meeting.

The old is out, and the new is in. At Creston School Board’s regularly-scheduled meeting Monday, former board member Rich Flynn left, and new board member Tom Eagan was sworn in.

Creston Superintendent Steve McDermott presented Flynn with a plaque for his service.

“I want to thank everybody in the Creston area for giving me the privilege to serve on the board, and I hope everything works out fine,” said Flynn.

Board members and administration alike stood up and shook Flynn’s hand before he left the meeting with his wife.

After the presentation, the meeting was adjourned, and the 2013-14 board meeting began.

Roy Stroud, Creston School District business manager, swore Eagan in during the new board meeting.

Members then voted on the organization of the board. Board member Galen Zumbach was unanimously voted in as president of the board.

“I would like to use as much parliament procedure as possible,” Zumbach said. “That means that everyone has a right to discuss. Discussion is not ended unless there is a motion to end it, two-thirds vote or the board decides to set a standard. That means when you have the floor, you have the floor. And, if there is disagreement, or someone has another opinion, your voice will be heard, just please wait your turn.”

Board member Ron Dunphy was unanimously voted in as vice president.

“Whether it’s in order or not, for two years I’ve learned a lot in the leadership of Rick (Fyock) and Sharon (Snodgrass), and I’ll say again, as I did last year, thank you, Rick, and this year, thank you, Sharon,” Dunphy said.

In other school board news:

• The board passed a motion to apply for a waiver for physical education classes. The waiver must be filled out for all schools with block scheduling.

• The board named Iowa State Savings Bank the depository bank, Creston News Advertiser the official newspaper for publication, Roy Stroud as board secretary, Patricia Moeller as board treasurer and Gruhn Law Firm as board attorney.

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)