75°FFairFull Forecast

College news

Published: Friday, Oct. 11, 2013 10:11 a.m. CDT

Iowa State University

AMES — The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University recognized its scholarship recipients for the current academic year.

The college and its departments award more than $2 million in scholarships each year. Students interested in enrolling in the college and applying for scholarships should go to http://www.cals.iastate.edu/scholarships/. The application deadline is Jan. 15 for incoming freshmen.

Scholarship awards for this academic year were presented to these students from the Creston News Advertiser area:

Clearfield – Karl Kerns, Allen E. Christian Swine Industry Scholarship and Fred Foreman Scholarship for Growth in Leadership Participation; and Matthew Kerns, Fred Foreman Scholarship for Growth in Leadership Participation and Homer K. Hansen AGR Scholarship.

Corning – Ella Akin, Degener-Owen Family Scholarship; Madison Shuey, Future of Agriculture Scholarship; and Stacie Shuler, Kiley and Marie Powers Scholarship Program in the Plant Sciences.

Creston — Samantha Smith, Ag Processing Inc (AGP) Scholarship.

Greenfield – Rob Mensing, Growmark, Inc. Scholarship.

Mount Ayr – April Shields, C.R. Musser/ISU Agricultural Endowment Freshman Scholarship.


Buena Vista University

STORM LAKE — The following students were named to the Buena Vista University’s graduate and professional studies dean’s list for term six at the Creston site:

• Hector Anguiano

• David Ayers

• Elizabeth Hartstack

• Cassandra Havlik

• Stephanie Mahoney

• Rachel Phillips

• Donna Ramsey

• Hilary Runyan

• Christine Sherrod

• Brittany Stafford

• Elizabeth Vanderflught

• Gena Ward

Students named to the dean’s list must have a minimum grade point average of 3.5 for the two terms, based on a 4.0 grade point system, and must have taken at least 12 hours of coursework.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush