82°FFairFull Forecast

Board Member for First National Bank in Creston elected chairman of ABA

Published: Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2013 1:00 p.m. CDT

WASHINGTON — Jeff Plagge has been elected chairman of the American Bankers Association for the 2013-14 association year. Plagge is the president and CEO of Northwest Financial Corp. in Arnolds Park and a board member for First National Bank in Creston.

With 23 consecutive years of ABA service, Plagge brings a breadth of knowledge with him to his role as chairman. He currently serves on the ABA Board of Directors and the ABA Mutual Insurance Board. He has previously served as chairman of the ABA Payments System Task Force, Government Relations Council, Agriculture Committee, and BankPac Committee.

“As the new ABA chairman, I have been given a great opportunity and a big responsibility,” Plagge said. “Fortunately, this opportunity is also one of the things I most enjoy – advocating on behalf of our industry. Like those before me, I vow to do my best to move this industry forward so we can continue our critical work in our communities.”

Having served as chairman of Iowa Bankers Association from 2003-04, Plagge has experience representing the banking industry.

In addition to his Northwest Financial and ABA responsibilities, Plagge serves on the Delta Dental of Iowa Board of Directors, Wartburg College President’s Advisory Council and is a member of Iowa Agriculture Secretary Northey’s Strategic Advisory Board. He is also a former board member of Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago and served on their Community Depository Institution Advisory Council.

Plagge is an Iowa State University graduate where he earned a degree in agricultural business with a minor in advertising and public relations.

American Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes and charters and is the voice for the nation’s $14 trillion banking industry and its two million employees.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush