73°FFairFull Forecast

Mustangs earn District 6 awards

Published: Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013 10:22 p.m. CDT • Updated: Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013 10:24 p.m. CDT
(CNA photo by KYLE WILSON)
Murray senior defensive lineman George Barber (56) blows past a blocker and hits Ankeny Christian Academy quarterback Noah Szymanski as he throws the ball in a Mustang win earlier this season. Barber was named the Defensive Player of the Year in Eight-Man District 6 after finishing with 87 total tackles and leading the district with 28 tackles for loss.

Two Murray players earned individual awards on the Eight-Man District 6 all-district teams announced Thursday.

Senior lineman George Barber was named Defensive Player of the Year in the district. Barber had 87 tackles, including 65 solo, and had 28 solo tackles for loss along with nine quarterback sacks. He was also a dominant offensive lineman for the Mustangs.

Running back Andrew Rider was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Rider returned five punts for touchdowns, taking his career total to 12, a national record. He also had two kickoff return touchdowns.

Rider was second in district rushing behind another national record-holder, Adair-Casey’s Clayton Plowman, who was named Offensive Player of the Year. Rider ran for 1,557 yards on 155 carries with 29 touchdowns. He also had 196 yards receiving with three TDs. Defensively, he led the district with seven interceptions along with 68 tackles. Four of those interceptions were returned for touchdowns.

Lineman of the Year is Chris Draman of Adair-Casey.

Murray running back Seth Nerness was also named to the first team. He ran for 856 yards and 14 TDs, had seven receptions for 114 yards and two TDs along with 71 tackles. He returned two kickoffs for touchdowns.

Murray tight end and defensive end Sam Rockhold was named to the first team. He was second in district tackles with 111 total, including 64 solo tackles and 14 for loss. He also had three interceptions. Offensively he had 23 catches for 359 yards and nine TDs.

Named to the first team from East Union were senior Trevor Barnett and sophomore Mike Ward. The versatile Barnett rushed for 852 yards and four TDs, completed nine passes for 151 yards and four TDs and caught seven passes for 218 yards and three TDs. He also had 48 tackles and one interception.

Ward was the leading tackler in the district with 112 total, including 39 solo stops. He also rushed for 705 yards and 12 TDs.

Murray players on the second team were Matt Barnes, Scott Funke and Ben Rockhold. East Union’s Brandon Wittstock was also named to the second team.

Honorable mention went to Murray’s Dylan Callstrom and East Union’s Cole Campbell.

Eight-Man Dist. 6

First team — Casey Angell, Colo-Nesco, Sr.; Daniel Ansong, Lamoni, Sr.; Connor Arrasmith, GVPB, Sr.; George Barber, Murray, Sr.; Trevor Barnett, East Union, Sr.; Nate Davidson, GVPB, Sr.; Chris Draman, Adair-Casey, Sr.; Caleb Heltenberg, Lamoni, Sr.; Taylor Hill, Colo-Nesco, Sr.; Jakob Horton, Mormon Trail, Jr.; Traeton Jensen, Adair-Casey, Sr.; Seth Nerness, Murray, Jr.; Andrew Rider, Murray, Sr.; Clayton Plowman, Adair-Casey, Sr.; Colton Ranney, Lamoni, Jr.; Sam Rockhold, Murray, Sr.; Garrett Shanks, ACA-ICA, Sr.; Kelton Stansberry, Mormon Trail, Sr.; Mike Ward, East Union, So.; Emmit Wheatley, Adair-Casey, Jr.

Second team — Matt Barnes, Murray, Jr.; Noah But, GVPB, So.; Logan Dinkla, Adair-Casey, Sr.; Scott Funke, Murray, Jr.; Gable Galusha, Lamoni, Sr.; Brett Leer, Mormon Trail, So.; Brad Patterson, Adari-Casey, Sr.; Andrew Reed, Mormon Trail, So.; Cole Reha, Adair-Casey, Jr.; Ben Rockhold, Murray, Jr.; Danny Savage, Lamoni, Sr.; Charlie Terry, Adair-Casey, Jr.; Ben Thompson, GVPB, Jr.; Evan Webb, Colo-Nesco, Sr.; Jacob Williams, Lamoni, Sr.; Brandon Wittstock, East Union, Jr.

Honorable mention — Beau Bjorland, Lamoni, Sr.; Dylan Callstrom, Murray, So.; Cole Campbell, East Union, Jr.; Ryan Flanders, GVPB, Sr.; Alex Griffin, Colo-Nesco, Sr.; James Grubbs, Adair-Casey, Sr.; Tyler Ludwig, ACA-ICA, Jr.; Joe Minnick, Mormon Trail, Sr.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)