82°FFairFull Forecast

Five Raiders on district first team

Published: Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013 1:40 a.m. CDT • Updated: Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013 1:44 a.m. CDT
(CNA file photo by SCOTT VICKER)
Mount Ayr senior Erik Freed breaks through the Nodaway Valley defense for a touchdown in a Raider victory in week one over the Wolverines. Freed was named a unanimous first-team selection to the all-district team in Class 1A District 7 as a defensive back.

The Mount Ayr Raiders placed five players on the Class 1A District 7 all-district first team, announced this week.

Three of the five were unanimous selections to the first team. Senior Mason Mercer was a unanimous selection as an offensive lineman, while junior Joe Ricker was a unanimous selection as a defensive lineman and senior Erik Freed was a unanimous selection as a defensive back.

Joining them on the first team were seniors Jacob Sobotka (offensive utility) and Cody Stackhouse (linebacker).

Mercer was a leader not just for the offensive line, but for the whole Mount Ayr team. He also paved the way up front for a successful Mount Ayr rushing attack that ran for 2,242 yards this season.

Ricker proved to be a handful for opposing offensive linemen. The junior accumulated 66 total tackles, 21 of which were solo tackles for a loss. He also recorded four solo sacks, despite often being double teamed.

Freed finished the season with 14 total tackles and picked off six passes at his defensive back position. He was also an important part of the offense, both running the ball and catching the ball.

Sobotka finished the year with 1,994 total yards of offense and scored 23 total touchdowns. He completed 53 percent of his passes for 1,175 yards and 12 scores. He averaged 5.6 yards per carry in leading the team in rushing.

Stackhouse finished second on the Mount Ayr team with 89 total tackles, including seven solo tackles for a loss and two solo sacks. He also recorded two interceptions, returning one 53 yards for a touchdown and recovered one fumble.

Second team honors went to senior Hagan Willis, junior Lincoln Martin, sophomore Jed McCreary, junior Jake Ricker, junior Riley Weehler and sophomore Kyle Dolecheck.

Willis was also part of the offensive line that paved the way for Mount Ayr’s rushing attack. Martin finished second on the team in receiving yards with 292 and led the team with five touchdown receptions.

McCreary and Jake Ricker earned second team honors as defensive linemen. Jake Ricker recorded 40 total tackles, including 10 solo tackles for loss and one solo sack. McCreary finished with 28 total tackles, including four solo tackles for loss.

Weehler led the Raiders in total tackles with 105, including 15 solo tackles for loss and three solo sacks. Dolecheck broke the school’s single season interceptions record, finishing the year with nine picks.

Earning honorable mention for Mount Ayr was Jacob Taylor, Caleb Schnoor and Tucker Winemiller.

Class 1A District 7


(* — unanimous)

First team offense — Brandon Brittain, Van Meter, Sr., QB; Cody Blackwell, Van Meter, Jr., RB; Austin Lentz, Ogden, So., RB; Trenton Wells, Central Decatur, Jr., WR; Luke West*, Ogden, Jr., WR; Logan Crawford, Van Meter, Sr., WR; Spencer Benton, Van Meter, Sr., OL; Mason Mercer*, Mount Ayr, Sr., OL; Dillon Delong, Central Decatur, Sr., OL; Andrew Vanderhaart, Pella Christian, Sr., OL; Jacob Sobotka, Mount Ayr, Sr., Utility; Jacob Brouwer, Pella Christian, Jr., K.

First team defense — Parker Suckow*, Van Meter, Sr., DL; Joe Ricker*, Jr., Mount Ayr, Jr., DL; Peprah Danquah*, Des Moines Christian, Sr., DL; Marcus Foltz, Central Decatur, Sr., DL; Henry Haglund*, Ogden, Sr., LB; Zach VanZee, Pella Christian, Sr., LB; Cody Stackhouse, Mount Ayr, Sr., LB; Jacob Lietz, Colfax-Mingo, So., LB; Caleb Frye, Ogden, Sr., DB; Erik Freed*, Mount Ayr, Sr., DB; Grant Hoppes, Van Meter, Sr., DB; Dillon Bruxvoort*, Des Moines Christian, Sr., DB; Owen Haberer*, Ogden, Jr., P.

Second team offense — Wyman Reed, Central Decatur, Sr., RB; Mason Howerzyl, Pella Christian, Sr., RB; Ben Flaherty, Van Meter, Sr., WR; Jake West, Ogden, Jr., WR; Grant Heineman, Ogden, Sr., WR; Hagan Willis, Mount Ayr, Sr., OL; Zach Arkema, Pella Christian, Sr., OL; Tresten Hagen, Ogden, Jr., OL; Ian Troll, Des Moines Christian, Sr., OL; Austin Delong, Central Decatur, Sr., OL; Lincoln Martin, Mount Ayr, Jr., Utility; Kolton Christle, Ogden, Sr., Utility; Bryce Godwin, Van Meter, So., K.

Second team defense — Ross Wesselmann, Van Meter, Sr., DL; Jonathon Thompson, Ogden, Sr., DL; Jed McCreary, Mount Ayr, So., DL; Jake Ricker, Mount Ayr, Jr., DL; Peyton Gilbert, Central Decatur, Jr., LB; Riley Weehler, Mount Ayr, Jr., LB; Jackson Webster, Des Moines Christian, Jr., LB; Ben Engstrand, Van Meter, Sr., LB; Colten Collins, Pella Christian, Sr., DB; Spencer Nelson, Ogden, So., DB; Kyle Dolecheck, Mount Ayr, So., DB; Kyle Palmer, Central Decatur, Jr., DB; Nate Haveman, Pella Christian, Jr., P.

Honorable mention

Van Meter — Colton Boswell, Sr.; Chase Wyant, Sr.; Brady Ladd, Jr.

Ogden — Nick Ross, So.; Gyena Hansen, Jr.; Jared Adreon, Sr.

Mount Ayr — Jacob Taylor, So.; Caleb Schnoor, So.; Tucker Winemiller, Jr.

Central Decatur — Daniel Weir, Sr.; Russell Sinclair, Sr.; Peyton Pedersen, So.

Des Moines Christian — Thomas Kinley, Jr.; Jonathan Weaver, So.; Zach Carlson, Jr.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)