Three T’wolves earn first team all-district honors

Published: Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013 1:08 a.m. CDT • Updated: Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013 7:13 a.m. CDT

The Southwest Valley Timberwolves placed three players on the Eight-Man District 8 first team in their first season as a school.

One of those players earned first team honors on both the offensive and defensive line.

Senior Keegan Longabaugh was a unanimous selection to both the first team offensive line and the first team defensive line.

Longabaugh was an anchor for an offensive line that paved the way for the Timberwolves to run for more than 3,100 yards this season. He also led Southwest Valley in tackles with 115 total tackles, including 10 solo tackles for loss and five solo sacks.

Joining Longabaugh on the first team was fellow senior Zach Barton as a linebacker and junior Gunnar McCuen as a defensive back. Both were unanimous selections.

Barton ranked second on the team in tackles with 95 total tackles, including eight solo tackles for loss and two solo sacks. He also recovered two fumbles, one of which was for a touchdown.

McCuen ranked fifth for Southwest Valley in tackling with 47 total tackles. He intercepted three passes and returned one 64 yards for a touchdown. He averaged 35.7 yards per interception return. McCuen also recovered three fumbles.

Lenox’s Todd Stoaks was named to the first team defensive line. Stoaks ranked second on the Tigers with 86 total tackles, including seven solo tackles for loss and four solo sacks. He recovered three fumbles.

A number of Timberwolves earned second team honors, as well.

Jordan Stuart made the second team as a quarterback and as a returner. Stuart passed for 774 yards with 12 touchdowns and ran for 760 yards with a team-high 15 touchdowns. He averaged 31.3 yards per punt return and took two punts back for a touchdown.

Barton earned second team honors as a running back after leading the team with 1,109 rushing yards. He scored 12 rushing touchdowns.

Seniors Kallan Schmelzer and Nick Spring both made the second team as ends. Spring led the team in receiving yards with 288 on 13 catches, while Schmelzer added 239 yards on 13 catches. Schmelzer had six receiving touchdowns, while Spring had five.

Schmelzer was also named to the second team defensive line after recording seven solo sacks and 11 solo tackles for a loss. Spring earned second team honors as a punter, averaging 38.6 yards per punt with a long of 62.

Tyler Bissell was named to the utility spot on the second team defense after recording 37 total tackles with three solo tackles for a loss. Bissell led the Timberwolves with four interceptions and returned one for a score.

Lenox junior Caleb Lange was named to the second team defensive line after leading Lenox with 87 total tackles, including 10 solo tackles for loss and nine solo sacks. He added one interception and one fumble recovery.

Teammate Dustin Gordon was named to a second team utility spot. Gordon finished with 48 total tackles and two interceptions.

Earning honorable mention for Southwest Valley were offensive lineman Ryan Carlson and linebacker Scott Vanderhoof. Receiving honorable mention for Lenox was junior running back Dustyn Rauch.

Eight-Man District 8

All-District teams

(* — unanimous)

First team offense — Trace Ticknor, CAM, Jr., QB; Spencer Phillips*, Fremont-Mills, Jr., RB; Chris Osborn*, Sidney, Sr., RB; Andrew Welch, Nishnabotna, Jr., RB; Michael Holste*, CAM, Sr., E; Brady Johnson, Stanton, So., E; Brandon Meston, Fremont-Mills, Jr., E; Keegan Longabaugh*, Southwest Valley, Sr., OL; Bret Blackburn*, Fremont-Mills, Jr., OL; Jacob Buck, Sidney, Sr., OL; Keagan Hosfelt, CAM, So., OL; Mackenzy Lang, Fremont-Mills, Jr., Utility; Erick Rodriguez*, Sidney, Jr., PK; Chris Osborn, Sidney, Sr., Return.

First team defense — Keegan Longabaugh*, Southwest Valley, Sr., DL; Haydn Meier, Fremont-Mills, Jr., DL; Erick Rodriguez, Sidney, Jr., DL; Todd Stoaks, Lenox, Sr., DL; Sam Phillips, Fremont-Mills, Fr., DL; Spencer Phillips*, Fremont-Mills, Jr., LB; Zach Barton*, Southwest Valley, Sr., LB; Austin Williamson, CAM, Jr., LB; Drake Strickler, Sidney, Sr., LB; Gunnar McCuen*, Southwest Valley, Jr., DB; Michael Coates, Sidney, Jr., DB; Parker Powers, Fremont-Mills, Fr., DB; Trace Ticknor, CAM, Jr., Utility; Mackenzy Lang, Fremont-Mills, Jr., P; Erick Rodriguez, Sidney, Jr., Kickoff.

Second team offense — Jordan Stuart, Southwest Valley, Sr., QB; Zach Barton, Southwest Valley, Sr., RB; Erick Rodriguez, Sidney, Jr., RB; Jacob Jones, Essex/South Page, Sr., RB; Dylan Amdor, CAM, Sr., E; Kallan Schmelzer, Southwest Valley, Sr., E; Nick Spring, Southwest Valley, Sr., E; Drake Strickler, Sidney, Sr., OL; Derek Swanson, Fremont-Mills, Jr., OL; Brett Horrach, Sidney, Sr., OL; Dustin Isaacson, Stanton, So., OL; Kyle Peterson, Stanton, Jr., Utility; Mackenzy Lang, Fremont-Mills, Jr., PK; Jordan Stuart, Southwest Valley, Sr., Return.

Second team defense — Caleb Lange, Lenox, Jr., DL; Keagan Hosfelt, CAM, So., DL; Kallan Schmelzer, Southwest Valley, Sr., DL; Jacob Cain, Sidney, Jr., DL; Colton Dodson, Fremont-Mills, So., LB; Brett Horrach, Sidney, Sr., LB; Alex Becthold, Stanton, So., LB; Brady Runyan, CAM, Sr., LB; Andrew Welch, Nishnabotna, Jr., DB; Chris Goodman, Fremont-Mills, Jr., DB; Jacob Ohnmacht, Essex/South Page, Sr., DB; Dustin Gordon, Lenox, Sr., Utility; Tyler Bissell, Southwest Valley, Jr., Utility; Nick Spring, Southwest Valley, Sr., P; Mackenzy Lang, Fremont-Mills, Jr., Kickoff.

Honorable mention offense — Jason Rusten, Fremont-Mills, So., QB; David Sorensen, Stanton, So., QB; Austin Woods, Essex/South Page, Jr., RB; Dustyn Rauch, Lenox, Jr., RB; Jacob Cain, Sidney, Jr., E; Carter Jennings, Nishnabotna, Fr., E; Bradley Nahkunst, Nishnabotna, Sr., E; Lucas Pauley, Nishnabotna, Sr., OL; Brett Johnson, Essex/South Page, Sr., OL; Ryan Carlson, Southwest Valley, Jr., OL; Dylan Amdor, CAM, Sr., Return.

Honorable mention defense — Lucas Pauley, Nishnabotna, Sr., DL; Scott Hale, Sidney, Sr., DL; Dakota Davis, Essex/South Page, Sr., DL; Scott Vanderhoof, Southwest Valley, Jr., LB; Cade Confer, Stanton, Sr., LB; Jacob Jones, Essex/South Page, Sr., LB; Zach Ratliff, Nishnabotna, Sr., DB; Cody McClintock, Essex/South Page, So., DB; Logan Dinkla, CAM, Sr., DB; Broc Hansen, Fremont-Mills, Jr., Utility; Zach Dailey, Essex/South Page, So., P; Drew Ticknor, CAM, So., P.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)