70°FOvercastFull Forecast

Iowa wrestlers win Midlands Championships

Published: Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2013 12:19 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2013 10:14 a.m. CDT

EVANSTON, Ill. — The Iowa wrestling team captured the team title in the 51st annual Ken Kraft Midlands Championships, which concluded Monday at Northwestern University.

The Hawkeyes won individual titles in three of the 10 weight classes and also had four runner-up finishes. The Iowa squad that won its 23rd Midlands team title, piling up 187.5 points, while runner-up Edinboro scored 102.5 points.

At 125 pounds, Iowa’s Thomas Gilman won a 6-1 decision over Jarrod Garnett of Bison WC. The fourth-seeded Gilman upset defending NCAA champion and top-seeded Jesse Delgado of Illinois 3-1 in the semifinals and was named the tournament’s outstanding wrestler by the Big Ten Network.

No. 1 Derek St. John gave the Hawkeyes another victory at 157 pounds with a 9-3 decision over No. 7 Taylor Walsh of Indiana.

At 174 pounds, Iowa’s Mike Evans earned a second-period pin over Shane Hughes in 2 minutes, 14 seconds.

The Hawkeyes also got four runner-up finishes at the event.

No. 2 Tony Ramos lost to No. 7 Joe Colon of Northern Iowa in a second-period pin at 125 pounds. Colon, a Clear Lake prep, was named the tournament's Outstanding Wrestler and Champion of Champions.

At 165 pounds, Iowa’s Nick Moore lost a 4-2 decision to North Dakota State’s Steven Monk.

At 184 pounds, No. 3 Jimmy Sheptock of Maryland beat No. 2 Ethen Lofthouse of Iowa in a 3-1 sudden victory. And in the heavyweight match, No. 4 freshman Adam Coon of Michigan edged No. 3 Bobby Telford of Iowa, 3-2.

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)