Partly Cloudy
66°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

Raiders second at 2014 Ron Scott Duals

Published: Monday, Jan. 20, 2014 1:26 a.m. CDT

MOUNT AYR — The Mount Ayr wrestling team had a successful weekend at the 2014 Ron Scott Dual Tournament here Friday and Saturday, finishing second in the final standings, while also placing three wrestlers on the all-tournament team and having a wrestler named the 2014 Ron Scott Wrestler of Character Award winner.

Riverside won the tournament with an 8-0 record.

Mount Ayr finished 6-2 in the tournament, tying with Lathrop (Mo.). But, the Raiders defeated the third-ranked team from Missouri 36-33 on Saturday, earning the head-to-head tiebreaker.

In that dual, the Raiders got out to a a 36-12 lead and held on for the win. Joe Ricker (285), Dawson Knapp (113), Grant Staats (132), Erik Freed (138) and Cal Daughton (145) all earned pins for the Raiders in the dual against Lathrop.

Mount Ayr finished off the tournament with a 46-36 win over Harlan of the Hawkeye 10 Conference.

Central Decatur finished fourth with a record of 5-3, while Harlan and Shenandoah both finished 4-4, with Harlan earning the head-to-head tiebreaker for fifth place. Council Bluffs St. Albert was eighth at 1-7 and Martensdale-St. Marys finished ninth at 0-8.

Knapp, Freed and Ricker were all named to the 2014 Ron Scott All-Tournament Team for the Raiders.

Knapp went 8-0 for the tournament with six pins. Freed finished 8-0 with five pins and Ricker went 8-0 with four pins.

Raider senior Jacob Beamgard was named the 2014 Ron Scott Wrestler of Character Award winner.

2014 Ron Scott Dual Tournament

Final standings — 1. Riverside 8-0, 2. Mount Ayr 6-2, 3. Lathrop 6-2, 4. Central Decatur 5-3, 5. Harlan 4-4, 6. Shenandoah 4-4, 7. Durant 2-6, 8. Council Bluffs St. Albert 1-7, 9. Martensdale-St. Marys 0-8.

All-Tournament Team

Central Decatur — Trenton Wells (195)

Harlan — Wil Beach (106), Broghan Kelly (145), Cale Stork (195), Dallon Bendorf (220)

Riverside — Jacob Vogel (120), Payton Houseman (170)

Mount Ayr — Dawson Knapp (113), Erik Freed (138), Joe Ricker (285)

Lathrop — Caleb Osborn (126), Isis Ayers (152), Josh Hartzell (170)

St. Albert — Wyatt Lewis (160).

2014 Ron Scott Wrestler of Character — Jacob Beamgard, Mount Ayr

Reader Poll

What are you looking forward to most at Creston's farmers' market?
Fresh produce
Honey and jam
Baked goods