41°FFairFull Forecast

Eight area players on Bluegrass all-conference

Published: Sunday, March 16, 2014 11:38 p.m. CST

Eight players from the Creston News Advertiser coverage area received recognition from the Bluegrass Conference on the all-conference teams, including a pair of first teamers in Murray’s Trey McHenry and Diagonal’s Jacob Taylor.

McHenry, a junior who moved to Murray before this season, was a unanimous first-team selection for the Mustangs.

McHenry led the Mustangs with 17.7 points per game on 50 percent shooting from the field. He also averaged 5.0 rebounds per game while finishing second on the team with 67 assists to go with 29 steals.

Taylor was the leading scorer in Class 1A among sophomores, scoring 19.3 points per game. He finished second in rebounding for the Maroons, averaging 6.7 boards per game. Taylor led Diagonal in assists (91), steals (83) and blocked shots (42).

Earning second team honors were Murray seniors Sam Rockhold and Pat Kilmer and Diagonal junior Blake Butler.

Rockhold averaged 8.5 points per game with a team-high 9.0 rebounds per game, while finishing with 25 assists and 44 steals. Kilmer scored 12.6 points per game with 7.1 rebounds per game to go with 40 assists, 27 steals and 36 blocked shots.

Butler averaged 16.1 points per game for Diagonal and led the team in rebounding with 6.9 boards per game. He finished the year with 32 assists and 26 steals.

Diagonal sophomore Levi Jarred, Murray senior Andrew Rider and Orient-Macksburg junior Jordan Thompson all received honorable mention.

Bluegrass Conference


(* — unanimous)

First team — Jeremy Deemer*, Sr., Lamoni; JJ Waddle*, Sr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Trey McHenry*, Jr., Murray; Tim Brunner, Sr., Lamoni; Conner Arrasmith, Sr., Grandview Park Baptist; Otis Roby, Jr., Twin Cedars; Jacob Taylor, So., Diagonal; Kelton Stansberry, Sr., Mormon Trail; Bradley Fisher, So., Ankeny Christian Academy; Trey Stansberry, Jr., Moulton-Udell.

Second team — Ben Thompson, Jr., Grandview Park Baptist; Sam Rockhold, Sr., Murray; Dylan Springer, Sr., Twin Cedars; Devon Veach, Jr., Iowa Christian Academy; Caleb Heltenberg, Sr., Lamoni; Chase Wetterling, Jr., Melcher-Dallas; Pat Kilmer, Sr., Murray; Blake Butler, Jr., Diagonal; Beau Bjorland, Sr., Lamoni; Chayton Tonemah, Sr., Ankeny Christian Academy.

Honorable mention — Logan McCoy, So., Moulton-Udell; Daniel Strong, Jr., Ankeny Christian Academy; Levi Jarred, So., Diagonal; Noah Burt, So., Grandview Park Baptist; Daniel Ansong, Sr., Lamoni; Holden Anderson, So., Iowa Christian Academy; Troy Lee, Sr., Melcher-Dallas; Caleb Windschitl, So., Moravia; Jake Horton, Jr., Mormon Trail; Andrew Rider, Sr., Murray; Jordan Thompson, Jr., Orient-Macksburg; Nick Howell, So., Seymour; Coy Moore, Sr., Twin Cedars.

Sportsmanship Award — Twin Cedars.

Final Standings — 1. Lamoni 12-0, 2. Murray 11-1, 3. Ankeny Christian Academy 9-3, 3. Grandview Park Baptist 9-3, 3. Twin Cedars 9-3, 6. Diagonal 8-4, 7. Mormon Trail 6-6, 8. Moulton-Udell 4-8, 9. Iowa Christian Academy 3-8, 10. Melcher-Dallas 2-10, 10. Moravia 2-9, 10. Orient-Macksburg 2-10, 13. Seymour 1-11.

More News

Reader Poll

Should state budget cuts include closing mental health facilities in Iowa?
Yes, if needed
No. More money should be put toward mental health, not less
Not sure