75°FFairFull Forecast

Fyock nominee for annual Cooley scholarship

Taylor, Nielsen win coveted CHS athletic awards

Published: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 12:37 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 12:57 a.m. CDT
Audrey Fyock

Audrey Fyock was Creston High School’s nominee for the E.Wayne Cooley Scholarship Award.

Although she did not receive one of the five scholarships, Fyock was the school’s nominee for the award based on excellence in academics and athletic leadership.

Also, Garret Taylor received the Bernie Saggau Award, and Olivia Nielsen was presented the Kim Bishop Award during the athletics portion of the Creston High School awards ceremony May 9.

See Wednesday’s Creston News Advertiser for coverage of the CHS Outstanding Female Athlete award winner, Chelcee Downing. Thursday’s News Advertiser will include coverage of Trevor Frain and Brandon Phipps, who received the male athlete award.

The Cooley award is named after the longtime executive director of the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union. Each year the IGHSAU awards a $15,000 scholarship to an Iowa high school student-athlete that will attend an Iowa university or college, along with four $1,000 scholarships.

As the scholarship’s application describes, Fyock “reflects discipline, perseverance, character, citizenship and leadership, which personifies the life and expectations of E. Wayne Cooley” to be considered among the elite of Iowa girls athletics.

Minimum criteria for the award is a grade point of 3.75 on 4.0 scale, and ACT score of at least 25, as well as participate in at least two sports each year. Fyock, one of six CHS 2014 valedictorians with a 4.0 GPA, plans to major in biomedical engineering at Iowa State University.

Fyock has participated in volleyball and tennis for four years, as well as basketball and softball during her high school career.

The Saggau award is named for the retired executive director of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, who devoted much of his life to building high standards of character and leadership in Iowa high school athletics.

Taylor, a varsity athlete in cross country, wrestling, tennis and baseball, is also an outstanding student. He received the award that states: “Presented annually to the graduating student who best exemplifies a patriotic spirit, with strong religious and moral convictions, living and professing the qualities of honesty, integrity, and sportsmanship; believing that both games and life should be conducted by the rules.”

Nielsen, a member of the volleyball, basketball and track teams, received the award in honor of the late Kim Bishop. A standout student at Creston High School, Bishop was also an all-around athlete and gymnast. The award is presented annually to a CHS female athlete who displays outstanding citizenship and sportsmanship.

The athletic awards include: Outstanding Female Athlete — Chelcee Downing. Outstanding Male Athlete — Trevor Frain, Brandon Phipps. Bernie Saggau Award — Garret Taylor. Kim Bishop Award — Olivia Nielsen. Citizenship — Levi Eblen, Michelle Powers, Itzayanna Rubio, Sarah Waigand. Sportsmanship — Kruz Adamson, Audrey Fyock, Sadie Jones, Evan Nielsen.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush