72°FOvercastFull Forecast

Creston FFA Chapter named one of Iowa’s best at state leadership conference

Published: Wednesday, May 14, 2014 11:32 a.m. CDT

(Continued from Page 1)

Creston FFA members along with adviser Kelsey Bailey, and chaperones Wayne Hanson and Cody Lamb, were among the more than 5,000 members and guests who attended the recently completed 86th annual State FFA Leadership Conference April 28-29 in Ames.

The Creston FFA Chapter’s tradition of excellence continued when it was again recognized as on of the elite programs in the state of Iowa during the 2014 State FFA Leadership Conference proceedings held in Hilton Coliseum on the campus of Iowa State University. The Creston FFA Chapter placed in the state’s National Chapter Award competition earning a gold emblem award and recognized with the Supreme National Chapter award. The chapter’s application will advance to national competition this fall.

Maddie Travis participated in the state level agriculture radio broadcasting career development event earning a silver award.

A large Experience the Action team earned a silver emblem at state conference; the team consisted of: Madison Skarda, Savannah Hartman, Olivia Hartman, Logan Pettit, Nicole Haley, Darin Hatfield, Chad Lamb, Darrian Fischer, Macy Evans, Cody Tanner, Will Gordon, Trevor Marlin, Dillon Bailey and Nick Walsh.

The agriculture marketing team – Bryce Briley, Jake Miller and Zach Hoffman – earned a silver emblem.

The farm business management team – Adam Baker, Zack Peppmeier, Jeremy Stoll and Jacob Powers – earned a gold rating at state.

Two freshman members, Morgan Shawler and Mattie Wheeler, earned a silver emblem for the greenhand quiz contest.

The chapter display earned a bronze emblem. Becca Ross and Emily Gravlin created this year’s state chapter display.

Individual FFA members were recognized and awarded for their outstanding leadership, SAE projects and classroom achievement.

Brooke Thelen was a candidate for the Star Over Iowa in Agribusiness. She has an outstanding equine training and lessons business, as well as competes in many barrel racing events. Thelen also raises and exhibits cattle, all of which she documents as her SAE in her record book.

Wyatt Thompson was recognized as one of six Rising Star candidates. The Rising Star is an award presented to a sophomore member who shows outstanding leadership and growth in the FFA.

Darin Hatfield was recognized as the top proficiency state winning member for his SAE in agribusiness placement. His application has been advanced to the national level.

Zack Peppmeier was awarded second place proficiency in diversified livestock production.

Lane Miller received third place at state with his equine science entrepreneurship proficiency, and Brooke Thelen earned fourth place with her equine science placement proficiency.

Four members earned the state’s academic achievement award; they are: Adam Baker, Taylor Rice, Zack Peppmeier and Jeremy Stoll.

Twelve local FFA members were awarded the Iowa FFA Degree during the convention proceedings. This degree is the highest honor the Iowa FFA Association bestows upon its membership. Recipients of this honor must put forth great effort through involvement in course work, leadership and SAE achievement. Those earning their Iowa FFA Degrees include: Bryce Briley, Ashley Harris, Savannah Hartman, Darin Hatfield, Kyle Jennett, Chad Lamb, Gavin Leith, Jake Miller, Jacob Powers, Madison Skarda, Brooke Thelen and Tyler Waddingham.

More than 20 Creston FFA members participated in the Iowa FFA’s state philanthropy project while attending the convention. Meals from the Heartland set up packaging tables on the floor of Hilton Coliseum, where thousands of FFA members packaged more than 260,000 meals to give to the food insecure. Such meals will be shipped throughout the world and domestically to aid in fighting the global food insecurity epidemic. The Creston FFA Chapter was assigned the duty to assist in the clean up and load out of the 260,000 meals.

“I like helping with Meals from the Heartland. It makes you feel good to know you are helping others,” said Chad Lamb.

Other member involvement saw Brooke Thelen and John Gravlin serve as state delegates voting on all official business and state officer elections. Current President Lane Miller made the state officer ballot for the South Central State vice president.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Reader Poll

What returning TV show are you most excited for this fall?
Empire (FOX)
Big Bang Theory (CBS)
The Voice (NBC)