70°FFairFull Forecast

Luther, Gross gain all-district honors

Published: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 12:27 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 1:23 p.m. CDT

Hanna Luther of Creston and Hailey Gross of Nodaway Valley/West Central Valley/Adair-Casey gained all-district soccer honors by the Iowa Girls High School Coaches Association.

Gross was named to the Class 2A West first team along with four Hawkeye 10 players in Lewis Central’s Allie Dmyterko and Kayleigh Putnam and Glenwood’s Jordyn Hanshaw and Sarah Homan. Also named to the first team was Winterset’s Jazlin Sprague.

Luther, a junior on the Panther defense, was named to the Class 1A West second team. She is joined on the 1A West team by several Hawkeye 10 players from Harlan and Council Bluffs St. Albert.

Harlan’s Ana Petersen and Sydney Mills are on the first team along with St. Albert’s Matti Munger, Jenna Cox and Emma Munger.

St. Albert has four more players on the West second team along with Kuemper Catholic’s Katie Tigges.

The West 2A and 1A selections:

IGCA All-District

Class 1A West

First team — Allison Waters, Underwood; Ana Petersen, Harlan; Chloe Wetzbarger, Bishop Heelan; Emma Munger, St. Albert; Jenna Cox, St. Albert; Kaylee Grote, Tri-Center; Kenzie Bousema, Western Christian; Matti Munger, St. Albert; Rachel Vondrak, Bishop Heelan; Sam Tymkowicz, Bishop Heelan; Sydney Mills, Harlan; Goalie - Tiffany Oliver, Underwood; Goalie - Tristan Beaulieu, Bishop Heelan.

Second team — Alyssa Becerra, AHST; Anna Reelfs, Treynor; Bre Harmelink, MOC-FV; Emily Wielenga, Unity Christian; Felicia Roppe, St. Albert; Hanna Luther, Creston; Katie Tigges, Kuemper Catholic; Lea Crouse, Underwood; Lexi McClung, St. Albert; Mary Casson, St. Albert; Meghan Marsh, Tri-Center; Shelby Toms, Treynor; Goalie - Kaitlyn Pierce, St. Albert; Goalie - Rachel Novotny, Riverside.

District Coach of Year - Jeff Lefeber, Tri-Center.

Class 2A West

First team — Allie Dmyterko, Lewis Central; Caroline Maher, ADM/Van Meter; Hailey Gross, NV/WCV/A-C; Jazlin Sprague, Winterset; Jordyn Hanshaw, Glenwood; Kayleigh Putnam, Lewis Central; Kim Shabino, Spencer; Loren Hemiller, C.B. Thomas Jefferson; Madison Bertman, ADM/Van Meter; Samantha Arnold, C.B. Thomas Jefferson; Sarah Homan, Glenwood; Goalie - Libby Havenridge, C.B. Thomas Jefferson.

Second team — Dana Mefferd, C.B. Thomas Jefferson; Emily Hofmann, ADM/Van Meter; Glenda Cruz, Perry; Hannah Connelly, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Jessica Molden, Sioux City West; Kelsey McSorley, Lewis Central; Maggie Oberg, Sioux City West; Reghan Coyle, Lewis Central; Sam Moss, Winterset; Sydney Salton, Spencer; Sydney Stivers, Glenwood; Goalie - Abby Daly, ADM/Van Meter; Goalie - Natalie Patton, Lewis Central.

District Coach of Year — Mark Royer, C.B. Thomas Jefferson.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush