70°FOvercastFull Forecast

Capsules of 5 straight conference champs

Published: Monday, June 9, 2014 12:39 a.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, June 9, 2014 12:34 p.m. CDT

Capsules of Creston’s five consecutive conference champion baseball teams to be honored at Wednesday’s home game against Southeast Polk, coached by former Panther all-stater Scott Belger and Dave Hartman, who assisted Vic Belger on those champion teams:

1989 — 40-4 overall, 13-1 in Hawkeye 8. District champion team ranked No. 1 in the state for five weeks. All-district and all-state first team - Scott Belger and Scott Driskell. Second-team all-district - Chad Good. All-conference first team - Chad Hightshoe, Chad Good, Scott Belger, Scott Driskell. All-conference second team - Mike Linch, Brian Parkins. All-SW Iowa first team - Scott Driskell, Chad Good, Scott Belger. All-SW Iowa honorable mention - Chad Hightshoe, Brian Parkins, Kurt Belger.

Other team members were Matt Higgins, Brian Haines, Brian Monday, Aaron Spainhower, Brett Willenborg, Chad Chase, Kevin Kendrick, Chad Willets, Ryan Woods.

1990 — 39-4 overall, 14-0 conference, Class 3A state runner-up. All-state first team - Scott Driskell, Scott Belger, Kurt Belger. All-conference first team - Scott Driskell, Scott Belger, Kurt Belger, Brian Parkins, Chad Willets. All-conference second team - Brian Haines.

Other team members were Dirk Huisman, Jason Means, Jason Hagle, Ryan Woods, Lamar Lindsay, Rob Evans, Cory Hightshoe, Chad Good, Pat McDonald, Lance Dorgan, Erik Baker, Aaron Spainhower, Brett Willenborg.

1991 — 42-2 overall, 14-0 conference, 41-game winning streak stopped in 4A substate final against Des Moines East. IBCA Elite All-State - Kurt Belger. All-state first team - Kurt Belger. All-state honorable mention - Ryan Woods, Jason Hagle, Cory Hightshoe. All-conference first team - Kurt Belger, Cory Hightshoe, Ryan Woods, Josh Eddington. All-conference second team - Pat McDonald, Jason Hagle. All-SW Iowa first team - Kurt Belger. All-SW Iowa second team - Ryan Woods, Cory Hightshoe. All-SW Iowa honorable mention - Rob Evans.

Other team members were Chad Willets, Lamar Lindsay, Cory Latham, Clint Mitchell, Jason Means, Keith Riley, Randal Maifield, B.J. Hellyer, Lance Dorgan, Joe Calvin and Rick Van Pelt.

1992 — 35-6 overall, 13-1 conference. IBCA Elite All-State - Kurt Belger. All-state first team - Kurt Belger. All-state honorable mention - Jason Hagle, Josh Eddington. All-conference first team - Kurt Belger. All-conference second team - Josh Eddington, Jason Hagle, Jason Means, Lance Dorgan, Joe Calvin. All-Southwest Iowa first team - Kurt Belger, Josh Eddington. All-Southwest Iowa second team - Jason Hagle. Southwest Iowa Player of the Year - Kurt Belger.

1993 — 22-7 overall, 13-1 conference. (Flooding throughout Iowa was widespread and many games were rained out.) Team was ranked as high as fourth in the state. All-state first team - Joe Calvin. All-state second team - Rick Van Pelt. All-conference first team - Joe Calvin, Rick Van Pelt, Cory Latham, B.J. Hellyer, Jumar Gordon.

Other team members were Ryan Mohr, Pat Coen, Brian Gerleman, Dirk Glynn, Scott Coen, Ben Adamson, Ryan Oshel, Keith Riley, Rod West and Clint Mitchell.

More News

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush