Mostly Cloudy
72°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Dennis continues streak; Hampel finds Victory Lane

Published: Tuesday, June 17, 2014 1:04 a.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, June 17, 2014 1:21 a.m. CDT
Jesse Dennis

CORNING — Jesse Dennis made it six of eight so far this season, and John Hampel claimed his first win at ACS since the 2012 season on a night when nobody was sure Mother Nature was going to cooperate.

Greg Miller got his second win of the season, as did Andy Davison in his hobby stock. And in the Stalker Chevrolet b-mods it’s either been Jerod Weston or Jon Plowman. This week Plowman led at the white flag, but Weston got the win.

Hobby Stocks

It took Andy Davison less than seven minutes from the time flagman Jim Tull threw the green flag on the evening’s first feature race until the first checkered flag was waving to signify his second win of the season.

Pole sitter Chris Bates jumped to the front and led the first four circuits until Davison moved around to take a lead that would never be challenged or slowed by the caution flag. Eighteen Chat Mobility hobby stocks raced clean and green with Bates hanging onto second, Kurt Hansen, Luke Ramsey, and Tom Myers following.

Davison’s win brought him within eight points of leader Jeremy Purdy, who settled for a sixth place finish. Just 10 points further back sees Ramsey and Myers tied for third in the point chase.


The caution free features came to an abrupt stop when Stalker Chevrolet b-mod driver Bryce Allen of Stanton launched his car off of turn one and rolled several times before coming to rest. Allen emerged from the car uninjured, but his racing night was done.

With eight nights of racing in the books, only two drivers have wins in the b-mod class.

Coming into the evening, Jon Plowman had five wins and Jerod Weston, two. With the lineups based on a four week point average, Weston started seventh, inside of row number three. Plowman was two rows further back, starting eleventh.

Weston wasted no time moving to the front. He was in second by the end of the first lap and took the lead just two laps later. Plowman’s journey was harder, moving to second by lap nine.

At the white flag, Plowman stuck his nose in front to take a very small lead, but Weston’s masterful driving in turns one and two put him in front on the backstretch. At the checkers, it was Weston by .034 seconds, a margin of about 12 inches.

Essex’s Blain Petersen was close behind in third with Darrin Hardisty and Dave Schafroth running fourth and fifth. This was Hardisty’s sixth top five this season and he has yet to finish outside the top ten.


Defending champion Greg Miller and car owner Gary Nissen have apparently set their sights on a repeat performance.

Starting ninth in a field of 12, Miller was running third when Clarinda’s Jake Christensen lost his motor on the front stretch and brought out the caution flag. After a lengthy clean-up session, Miller blasted to the front on the restart and then held off Jason Rold for the last 10 laps to get his second win of the season.

Rold, Clay Mercer, Joe Zadina, and Brad Derry made up the top five. Derry’s finish was hard-earned after he tangled with Tony Hardisty on lap six, bringing out the caution flag and sending them both to the back. Hardisty managed a seventh place finish.


Like the b-mods, the Poet Biorefining modifieds have only seen two faces in victory lane this year — Jesse Dennis and Ryan Peckham. With Peckham not at the track this week, it was up to defending champion Brian Foote to keep Dennis out of victory lane.

With Dennis starting eighth in the field of 16, Keven Parman started in the pole position and led the first 11 laps. Using the very bottom of the race track to its fullest, Dennis took the lead on lap 12. Foote followed into second place one lap later, but was never able to close the margin.

At the checkers it was Dennis leading by over two and a half seconds, with Foote, Parman, Todd Van Eaton, and John Davis following. Dennis’ 78 point lead in the class is now bigger than the combined leader margin in the other four classes at the speedway.

Late Models

Over two years had passed since John Hampel had parked his 2H machine in victory lane at Adams County Speedway, but on this Father’s Day eve, with both his children on hand, the winless drought came to an end. A smooth, racy surface made car setup extremely important and Hampel had all the right adjustments to methodically move his way from 10th to the front.

A multi-car incident on the opening lap involving six cars ended the racing night for Chris Spieker and Trent Jackson, while sending Jason O’Brien and Daulton Maassen to the rear of the field.

Prescott’s Justin Cooper paced the first half of the 25 lap race until Hampel slipped by. Lamoni’s wild child, Sterling Perkins, moved his car into second place, until a lap 19 caution forced a restart.

On the restart, O’Brien grabbed second, but was unable to catch Hampel. O’Brien hung on to second with Perkins, Paul Glendenning, and Daulton Maassen rounding out the top five.

Kids Bike Races

June 21 is the annual Alegent Health Kids Bike Races at the speedway. All youth age 12 and under are invited to bring their bikes and race on the front stretch at intermission. Trophies will be awarded to the top boy and girl in five different age divisions, with every entrant getting a medal.

Vintage Wingless Sprints

June 21 will also see the first ever appearance of the Vintage Wingless Sprints at ACS. These “show cars that race” are restored machines from the 1960s and 70s. Racing as an added exhibition class, it may be the first time wingless sprints have ever toured the ACS oval. Ticket prices have not been changed for this big show, with a family pass still $25.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

If adding curbside recycling would raise your garbage bill by $4, would you be in favor of it?
No, but I would be in favor if it cost less
No, it's not worth paying extra
Not sure