66°FOvercastFull Forecast

Three area first-teamers on All-Western Iowa Baseball

Creston’s Luther on 4A/3A second team

Published: Monday, Aug. 18, 2014 11:54 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2014 12:34 a.m. CDT
(CNA file photo)
Lenox junior Caleb Lange was named as a first-team pitcher on the Omaha World-Herald's All- Western Iowa Baseball Team. Lange was second in Class 1A in Iowa with 82 2/3 innings pitched, with an earned run average of 1.02 and 9-4 record. Lange also ranked in the top 10 in Class 1A with 44 runs batted in, while hitting .340.
(CNA file photo)
Nodaway Valley senior Trevor Jameson was named as a first-team infielder on the Omaha World- Herald's All-Western Iowa Baseball Team. Jameson ranked second in Class 1A in batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. He hit .567 with an on-base percentage of .701 and a slugging percentage of .983.

OMAHA — Three area standouts from Lenox and Nodaway Valley were named to the Class 2A/1A first team, and Creston outfielder Trevor Luther is a Class 4A/3A second-teamer on the Omaha World-Herald’s All-Western Iowa Baseball Team.

Named to the small schools first team were Lenox junior pitcher Caleb Lange, Tiger senior catcher Dustin Gordon and Nodaway Valley senior infielder Trevor Jameson.

Gordon shares the catching position with substate opponent Preston Jager of Underwood.

Named to the second team in 2A/1A is Orient-Macksburg junior Jordan Thompson at a utility position. He was a pitcher and infielder for the Bulldogs.

Receiving honorable mention are Casey Ladd, Jackson Lamb and Baley Shantz of Nodaway Valley; Spencer Brown and Todd Stoaks of Lenox; and Keegan Longabaugh of Southwest Valley.

Captains are Sioux City Heelan senior catcher/pitcher Tyler Cropley and Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto junior pitcher Korey Kuhlmann.

The World-Herald Western Iowa coverage area does not include area schools Mount Ayr, Murray and East Union.

Class 4-A/3-A

First Team — P Brett Croghan, Harlan, So.; P Cody Selig, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.; P Daniel Tillo, Sioux City North, Jr.; C Austin Simmons, CB Lewis Central, Jr.; C Spencer Wyant, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Jr.; IF Corey Bertini, Glenwood, Sr.; IF Sean Houston, Denison-Schleswig, Jr.; IF Caleb Shudak, CB Lewis Central, So.; IF Tanner Wauhob, Sioux City West, Jr.; OF Nate Gettys, Harlan, Sr.; OF Kaleb Hanks, Sioux City East, Jr.OF Brady Mayo, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; UT Cob Baker, Glenwood, Sr.; UT Tyler Cropley, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; UT Hayden Godfrey, Sioux City East, Sr.; UT Robert Neustrom, Sioux City North, Jr.

Captain: Cropley, Sioux City Heelan.

Second Team — P Matt Brophy, CB Thomas Jefferson, Sr.; P Josh Jones, CB Lewis Central, Sr.; P Brayden Schurke, Denison-Schleswig, Sr.; C Dakota Blatchford, Sioux City East, Jr.; C Brady Wheeler, Glenwood, Sr.; IF Kyle Crowl, CB Abraham Lincoln, So.; IF Trent Solsma, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; IF Cale Stork, Harlan, Sr.; IF Thomas Wisecup, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.; OF Trevor Luther, Creston, Sr.; OF Connor Niles, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; OF Logan Steffens, Atlantic, Sr.; UT Bryce Hanson, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.; UT Taylor Neuroth, Sioux City West, Sr.; UT Peyton Renning, Carroll, Jr.UT Zach Williamson, CB Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

Class 2-A/1-A

First Team — P Tyler Jacobsen, Exira-EHK, Jr.; P Korey Kuhlmann, Maple Valley-A-O, Jr.; P Caleb Lange, Lenox, Jr.; P Jared Vollstedt, IKM-Manning, So.; C Dustin Gordon, Lenox, Sr.; C Preston Jager, Underwood, Sr.; IF Brady Charbonneau, Logan-Magnolia, Jr.; IF Trevor Jameson, Nodaway Valley, Sr.; IF Shea Patterson, CB St. Albert, Sr.; IF Trey Robinson, Treynor, Jr.; OF Caylor Deeth, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Sr.; OF Brett Greenwood, Logan-Magnolia, Sr.; OF Jon Meyerring, CB St. Albert, Jr.; UT Jackson Baker, Shenandoah, Sr.; UT Brett Carstens, Coon Rapids-Bayard, Sr.; UT Zach Kliefoth, Exira-EHK, Jr.; UT Austin Konsor, Underwood, Sr.

Captain: Kuhlmann, Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto.

Second Team — P Ben Dotzler, OA-BCIG, So.; P Josh Hecker, CB St. Albert, Sr.; P Nick Paulsen, Treynor, Sr.; P Jake Petry, CB St. Albert, Jr.; C Adam Schleisman, Carroll Kuemper, Jr.; C Austin Switzer, Fremont-Mills, Sr.; IF Brett Daley, Treynor, Fr.; IF CJ Kyle, Missouri Valley, So.; IF Drew Peppers, Exira-EHK, Jr.; IF Sam Wegner, IKM-Manning, Jr.; OF Ben Chapin, Treynor, Jr.; OF Jose Rendon, Shenandoah, Sr.; OF Caleb Wichman, Underwood, Jr.; UT Keaton King, West Harrison, Fr.; UT Mackenzy Lang, Fremont-Mills, Jr.; UT Jordan Thompson, Orient-Macksburg, Jr.; UT Riley Wohlers, Logan-Magnolia, So.

Area honorable mention: Spencer Brown, Lenox; Casey Ladd, Nodaway Valley; Jackson Lamb, Nodaway Valley; Keegan Longabaugh, Southwest Valley; Quentin Sefrit, Bedford; Baley Shantz, Nodaway Valley; Todd Stoaks, Lenox.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

More News

Reader Poll

What new Iowa State Fair food are you most excited to try?
Apple pie on a stick
Donut sundae
Deep fried nacho balls
Pumpkin spice funnel cake
Cattleman's steak wrap