Partly Cloudy
68°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

Two Panthers on first All-Western Iowa Softball Team

Lenox’s Arevalo also on first unit

Published: Monday, Aug. 18, 2014 11:54 p.m. CDT • Updated: Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2014 12:34 a.m. CDT
(CNA file photo)
Creston junior Natalie Mostek was named as a first-team catcher on the Omaha World-Herald's All- Western Iowa Softball Team. The Creston catcher batted .415 with five home runs, 33 RBI and six doubles. She also stole 15 bases in 15 attempts. She also had a .981 fielding percentage, with only three errors in 31 games.
(CNA file photo)
Lenox junior Aurora Arevalo was named as a first-team catcher on the Omaha World-Herald's All- Western Iowa Softball Team. The Lenox catcher hit .400 for the season with 11 doubles, one triple, five homers and drove in 31 runs. She also stole 15 bases in 18 attempts. Arevalo threw out 32 percent of the runners who attempted to steal a base on her.

OMAHA — The junior battery of pitcher Haylee LaMasters and catcher Natalie Mostek represent Creston on the Omaha World-Herald’s All-Western Iowa Softball Team.

The Panther duo is on the first team in the Class 5A/4A/3A division. LaMasters takes a spot on the pitching staff along with Glenwood senior Lisa Nebel and Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln junior Lauren Nahnsen.

A third Creston player, sophomore outfielder Josie Sickels, was named to the second team. Taylor Briley and Jami Sickels received honorable mention.

In Class 2A/1A, Lenox junior catcher Aurora Arevalo and Bedford senior outfielder Madison Walston are on the first team. Nodaway Valley freshman pitcher Paige McElfish is on the second unit.

Katie Dukes of Lenox and Nodaway Valley’s Josie Carter received honorable mention.

Captains of the two teams are Abraham Lincoln power hitter Lauren Nahnsen and pitching-hitting talent Rachel Smith of Exira/EHK.

Class 5-A/4-A/3-A

First Team — P: Haylee LaMasters, Creston, Jr.; P: Lauren Nahnsen, CB Abraham Lincoln, Jr.; P: Lisa Nebel, Glenwood, Sr.; C: Natalie Mostek, Creston, Jr.; C: Cheyenne Wilcke, OA-BCIG, Sr.; IF: Molly Cunard, CB Lewis Central, Sr.; IF: Ashtin Hazel, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.; IF: Bailey Heaton, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; IF: Logan Schaben, Harlan, So.; OF: Sara Ingoldsby, Glenwood, Fr.; OF: Ana Petersen, Harlan, Sr.; OF: Sam Pick, Denison-Schleswig, Jr.; UT: Codie Fineran, Denison-Schleswig, Sr.; UT: Miles Ludwigs, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.

Honorary captain: Nahnsen, CB Abraham Lincoln.

Second Team — P: Paige Lansink, Denison-Schleswig, Jr.; P: Allie Wolf, CB Lewis Central, So.; P: Rylie Zyzda, Sioux City East, So.; C: Drew Piersma, Sioux City North, Sr.; C: Madison Sapienza, CB Abraham Lincoln, Fr.; IF: Elise Berg, Carroll Kuemper, Jr.IF: Jensen Boger, OA-BCIG, Sr.; IF: McKena Duffek, CB Lewis Central, So.; IF: Deana Roth, CB Abraham Lincoln, So.; OF: Jenna Bork, Sioux City Heelan, Sr.; OF: Kennedy Colvert, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sr.; OF: Josie Sickels, Creston, So.; UT: Brooke Newell, Atlantic, Fr.; UT: Julia Sorfonden, Harlan, So.

Area honorable mention: Taylor Briley, Creston; Jami Sickels, Creston.

Class 2-A/1-A

First Team — P: Peyton Gross, IKM-Manning, 8th; P: Rachel Smith, Exira-EHK, Jr.; P: Karly Treiber, Maple Valley-A-O, Sr.; C: Aurora Arevalo, Lenox, Jr.; C: Taylor Frain, Riverside, Jr.; IF: Ashley Ewoldt, Charter Oak-Ute, So.; IF: Baily Janssen, Missouri Valley, Jr.; IF: Kennedy Madsen, Exira-EHK, Jr.; IF: Taryn Williams, Fremont-Mills, Jr.OF: Abby Dobernecker, Charter Oak-Ute, Sr.; OF: Kendra Sexton, Maple Valley-A-O, Jr.; OF: Madison Walston, Bedford, Sr.; UT: Lexi Killinger, Treynor, So.; UT: Abby Straight, Logan-Magnolia, So.; UT: Tobey Yates, Underwood, Jr.

Honorary captain: Smith, Exira-EHK.

Second Team — P: Annie Henderson, Charter Oak-Ute, So.; P: Lauren Mahlberg, Glidden-Ralston, So.; P: Paige McElfish, Nodaway Valley, Fr.; C: Lexie Dooley, Missouri Valley, Sr.; C: Quinn Sheldon, Sidney, So.; IF: Emalee Fundermann, Maple Valley-A-O, So.; IF: Holly Handlos, Glidden-Ralston, Fr.; IF: Devin Laughlin, East Mills, Sr.; IF: Emilee Meadows, Charter Oak-Ute, So.; OF: Danikah Grobe, A-H-S-T, Jr.; OF: Morgan Shearer, West Harrison, So.; OF: Abbey Youngren, IKM-Manning, So. (DH); UT: Bailey Clark, CB St. Albert, So.; UT: Chelsea Lautrup, Logan-Magnolia, Sr.; UT: Carmen Subbert, Stanton, Sr.

Area honorable mention: Josie Carter, Nodaway Valley; Katie Dukes, Lenox.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Reader Poll

If the 2016 presidential election were held today, which of the top candidates would be most likely to get your vote?
Hillary Clinton
Donald Trump
Bernie Sanders
Jeb Bush